Mom's Apple Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I have made this pie several times, sometimes I add in a pinch of allspice and powdered ginger for extra flavor -- perfect! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MonaG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graniteville, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
The whiskey adds a great flavor! I did a crumble top instead of the crust layer -- amazing pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Rita- I think your "Mom's Apple Pie" kicks booty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Leona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasco, Washington, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Before I made this pie I read over the reviews. So, after making and tasting it for myself, I loved it! I did add just a lil more sugar. I have a sweet tooth. And the crust.....perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This is a good pie, not the best I've ever had but good. I did find that I had to cook it a little longer then what the recipe called for, about 10 more minutes. It also wasn't as liquid-y (for lack of a better word) as I like my pies to be. I will say that I liked it because usually the syrup bubbles out of the pie and all over the cookie sheet and that didn't happen with this pie but it was too little. It's easily fixable and I think next time I will increase the sugar and flour a bit, a 1/4 of flour and a 1/2 cup each of brown and white sugar.I did like the addition of the whiskey, I couldn't taste the whiskey but it added a depth to the flavor. I will make this again but with a little tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Canyon Lake, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
I would have given this 5 stars if I hadn't almost immediately after making this also made Ina Garten's French Apple Tart (Food Network). I thought this pie was excellent, but, compared to that tart.... wow! I will say, however, that both recipes called for liquor (whisky in this one, rum in the other), and, that is my new favorite way to bake with apples. The alcohol brings a wonderful depth to the dish! I am keeping this recipe for the filling (I had to make a gluten-free crust, so I cannot comment on the crust here) and will definitely use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I made this last year during apple season and froze in a bunch of fillings (less the butter and whiskey). Even thawing the prepared fillings, adding to a storebought crust, a sprinkle of minute tapioca (to absorb excess moisture), butter and whiskey, top crust, bake and this is still, bar none, the best apple pie EVER! I gave a frozen filling to friends and their entire family has now adopted this recipe! Really really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
This is theeeee best apple pie I have ever eaten. I used gravenstein apples. The nutmeg and whiskey were a great addition . Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Almost too easy... thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bug

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Sooo good, and easy! Just the recipe I was looking for. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States