Mom's Apple Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Great pie. We used an apple peeler/corer/slicer for the apples. then I cut them into quarters Used less sugar and will do a 1/2 cup and will do 1 teas of butter next time. It felt healthy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
It ended up incredibly soupy and a little too sweet for my tastes. I did tweak it a little and used half brown sugar and half white, but that was the only change I made. How can I make it less soupy???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Really a good recipe for someone who does not bake alot of pies. Its fast easy and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvonne Douglas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I made this pie tonight with Granny Smith and the flavor was good but the apples broke down like I have never experienced before -almost like apple sauce and my apple slices were pretty chunky. Maybe it was the whiskey? I didn't even use the entire amount and I always use Granny Smith - a little confused.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mermaid410

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Adding the whiskey is a great idea! It turned out soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
This is the BEST apple pie I've made. My husband ate all but one slice. He was nice enough to leave me one. I will be making this one over and over again. I used Benjamin Prichard's Sweet Lucy Bourbon Based Liqueur and couldn't be happier with the results. I am making this to share with my very picky, bourbon loving father. We'll see if he can guess the secret ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
This was one of the best apple pies I have ever made. It truly is excellent. I used Crown Royal in this and it was awesome. I definitely will be using this recipe again. This was a very easy recipe, and it came together quick. We just loved it.Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Delicious!! I only made 2 changes, one was to cut down the amount of apples to 4 and the other was it just omit the nutmeg and whiskey simply because my mother doesnt care for it. My mother said it was better than the one she had when she was a kid! You know thats a great pie if she says that! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This was my first attempt at making an apple pie. I followed the recipe exactly and added a lattice top. Took it to a dinner with my boyfriend's family. They loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Used some good bourbon and loved the flavor. Two tablespoons might be too strong for some folks' taste, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States