Mom's Apple Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I have made this recipe for a years now.....it is always the rave of the holiday celebration!! Funny, but I remember watching the Waltons as a child and the two Baldwin sisters always put "papa's recipe" in their apple pie :-) (Which was whiskey) A deliciously flavored apple pie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Central Square, New York, USA
Living In: Fulton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
this is THE perfect pie recipe. My husband will not let me make anything else. he request this to be made for every occasion, even for his birthday instead of cake. i seen that some had a soupy pie turn out, it happened to me twice and i discovered that it was the kind of apples that i had used. a simple mistake on my part ( dont use soft tender apples like McIntosh). Now i use a variety of apples, what ever is in store. for super firm crisp ( granny smiths) apples i cut the chunks a little smaller and for the rest i slice & dice as usual. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I'm not a whiskey fan, but it definitely adds something special to this pie. I liked that the filling was not overly sweet. This is my new favourite apple pie filling recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Vixen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I made this last year (2011) for Thanksgiving and it turned out great. The whiskey adds a nice depth of flavor - I used single malt scotch, since that's what I had, and it seemed to work well. I did use brown sugar instead of white (personal preference).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I was looking for an apple pie recipe and saw this one has whiskey in it so I decided to give it a shot. My boyfriend travels with his job and has tried a lot of apple pies. He told me after making this one for the first time that this is the best apple pie he has tasted, and won't let me make it for anyone other than him. lol! I didn't really change anything. I used four gala apples. That was the only thing I changed, and let it set for a few hours before I cut into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
This was simple and really tasty! I didn't make any changes to the recipe and it was a big hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leaca Moerland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
My husband & son love this pie. It never lasts long!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
i added more whiskey and raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
All I can say is WOW!!! The whiskey certainly added to this recipe.. My husband is diabetic, so I used Splenda instead of sugar.. he's come home with bags of apples since, and has peeled and sliced them as a hint to make this again. Thank you for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie
Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Chatham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This pie is awesome! Don't change a thing! I can't believe anyone would omit or substitute the whiskey... It definitely MAKES this pie! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States