Mom's Apple Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I was looking for an apple pie recipe and saw this one has whiskey in it so I decided to give it a shot. My boyfriend travels with his job and has tried a lot of apple pies. He told me after making this one for the first time that this is the best apple pie he has tasted, and won't let me make it for anyone other than him. lol! I didn't really change anything. I used four gala apples. That was the only thing I changed, and let it set for a few hours before I cut into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
This was simple and really tasty! I didn't make any changes to the recipe and it was a big hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
My husband & son love this pie. It never lasts long!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
i added more whiskey and raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
All I can say is WOW!!! The whiskey certainly added to this recipe.. My husband is diabetic, so I used Splenda instead of sugar.. he's come home with bags of apples since, and has peeled and sliced them as a hint to make this again. Thank you for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie
Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Chatham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This pie is awesome! Don't change a thing! I can't believe anyone would omit or substitute the whiskey... It definitely MAKES this pie! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Great pie. We used an apple peeler/corer/slicer for the apples. then I cut them into quarters Used less sugar and will do a 1/2 cup and will do 1 teas of butter next time. It felt healthy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
It ended up incredibly soupy and a little too sweet for my tastes. I did tweak it a little and used half brown sugar and half white, but that was the only change I made. How can I make it less soupy???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Really a good recipe for someone who does not bake alot of pies. Its fast easy and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I made this pie tonight with Granny Smith and the flavor was good but the apples broke down like I have never experienced before -almost like apple sauce and my apple slices were pretty chunky. Maybe it was the whiskey? I didn't even use the entire amount and I always use Granny Smith - a little confused.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mermaid410

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States