Mom's Apple Fritters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I used Braeburn apples and added cinnamon to the batter, and they were very tasty when tossed with cinnamon and sugar. I dusted half of the batch with powdered sugar, but I prefer them dusted with cinnamon and sugar. It's a good idea to drop small spoonfuls of the batter into the oil because the fritters will expand, and they will retain too much oil (and will be soggy) if they're too big.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsredman

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tara
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Yummy! I replaced the white flour with Whole wheat pastry flour,Milk for skim milk,Splenda for the sugar & used egg beater's in place of the egg's.replaced applesauce(homade-no sugar with cinnamon) for the oil in the batter,Added 1 Tsp cinnamon to the batter.I grated 2 large honey crisp apple's (skins on) into the batter.Put the cinnamon/splenda mixture in a brown bag, placed the fritters in the bag & shook to coat.I also used my small cookie dough scoop to put them into the hot oil.Worked perfectly!They poofed out very well.A very nice size to handle for adult's & kid's.Very quick and super easy!Slightly crisp on the outside,moist,tender and fluffy on the inside.Great morning treat while we went on our Autumn walk!Great with Coffee!My kid's loved them.No leftover's,Alway a bonus! I will be making these again! I am thinking of trying pumpkin next time!YUM!!Thanks for a great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tomah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
This is a wonderful recipe. The batter turns out nice and poofy. I did realize soon that I needed to drop the temperature on my oil, but once through that firs test batch, I had no problems. I was lazy and used my Chop Wizard, leaving the skins on, but this is a really great way to wake up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
Amazing with a little tweaking. I cut the apples in very, very tiny pieces. I doubled the batter, but not the apples. I doubled the sugar and added 2 tsp. of cinnamon. Drop by tablespoon or even teaspoon, depending on how large you want them. They puff up quite a bit. Do NOT make them too large or the center will still be raw. I also found that 375 was a bit too warm, I cooked them @ 350. They came out amazingly, way better than the fair! You actually get little pieces of apple in every bite! They were wicked easy to make! Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe. These will be a treat for my family for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
These weren't flat enough- they were more like dumplings. Next time I'll try piping the batter into the oil to try to get it flatter. The batter wasn't sweet enough for my taste. The end result was more like a puffy, savory, scone. Next time I'll add a lot more sugar to the batter and glaze them. The apple to batter ratio was too high. The apple pieces burnt in the oil. I'm going to double the batter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Very Good. Used applesauce in place of the oil in the batter to cut the grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMISTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
These are fabulous! I added cinnamon to the batter as suggested and made a simple glaze to top them with. They are best after sitting for awhile to crisp over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Awesome! A little splash of vanilla extract and the batter taste like a dessert crepe. I had cut up the apples like fries...mmm apple fry fritters....yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
this was plain but good with the powdered sugar. However, if you top it with vanilla ice cream(or cool whip) and chocolate syrup drizzled on top, it tastes just like the sundae waffles from six flags great america. yummy. I will make this again as a sundae.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
This was excellent! I doubled the batter with the same amount of apples. Added 1T of cinnamon to the base recipe. Then instead of sprinkling with cinnamon sugar, used a glaze of 2C confectioners sugar to 6 Tablespoons of milk. The kids & hubby were begging to add to our favorites file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States