Mom's Apple Fritters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
this was plain but good with the powdered sugar. However, if you top it with vanilla ice cream(or cool whip) and chocolate syrup drizzled on top, it tastes just like the sundae waffles from six flags great america. yummy. I will make this again as a sundae.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I used Braeburn apples and added cinnamon to the batter, and they were very tasty when tossed with cinnamon and sugar. I dusted half of the batch with powdered sugar, but I prefer them dusted with cinnamon and sugar. It's a good idea to drop small spoonfuls of the batter into the oil because the fritters will expand, and they will retain too much oil (and will be soggy) if they're too big.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
205 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsredman

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
These weren't flat enough- they were more like dumplings. Next time I'll try piping the batter into the oil to try to get it flatter. The batter wasn't sweet enough for my taste. The end result was more like a puffy, savory, scone. Next time I'll add a lot more sugar to the batter and glaze them. The apple to batter ratio was too high. The apple pieces burnt in the oil. I'm going to double the batter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
This is a wonderful recipe. The batter turns out nice and poofy. I did realize soon that I needed to drop the temperature on my oil, but once through that firs test batch, I had no problems. I was lazy and used my Chop Wizard, leaving the skins on, but this is a really great way to wake up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Love them! I added 3 large apples since I misread the recipe and they still turned out great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
I'm crazy for fritters, these were good but not exactly bakery style or shape
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Turned out really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dadsacookin'

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Very Good. Used applesauce in place of the oil in the batter to cut the grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMISTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
These are awesome. Very easy to make. Taste wonderful.I made a glaze to put on them.Really really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tara
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Yummy! I replaced the white flour with Whole wheat pastry flour,Milk for skim milk,Splenda for the sugar & used egg beater's in place of the egg's.replaced applesauce(homade-no sugar with cinnamon) for the oil in the batter,Added 1 Tsp cinnamon to the batter.I grated 2 large honey crisp apple's (skins on) into the batter.Put the cinnamon/splenda mixture in a brown bag, placed the fritters in the bag & shook to coat.I also used my small cookie dough scoop to put them into the hot oil.Worked perfectly!They poofed out very well.A very nice size to handle for adult's & kid's.Very quick and super easy!Slightly crisp on the outside,moist,tender and fluffy on the inside.Great morning treat while we went on our Autumn walk!Great with Coffee!My kid's loved them.No leftover's,Alway a bonus! I will be making these again! I am thinking of trying pumpkin next time!YUM!!Thanks for a great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
208 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tomah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States