Mom's Apple Fritters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
First time I made it I cut the recipe in half and calculated the milk wrong! I used 16 Tablespoons instead of teaspoons! No wonder it was a soggy, drippy mess! OK, I love this recipe because it's fast and easy. Like others, I added a pinch or two (or three) of vanilla and cinnamon. Glazed them like an old fashioned donut. For the time spent, these are awesome. No proofing and get down to frying after the only hard step, peeling and dicing apples. It's a keeper. You can make a better apple fritter, but not without spending hours proofing dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I doubled the amount of batter and grated 3 honey crisp apples with skins on. I also chopped up about 8 pieces of bacon to add to the batter and used bacon grease instead of vegetable oil. They were not made to be a diet snack. I agree that 350 is the temp for the fryer. These were outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
These are soooo good! Light and fluffy inside!! YUM! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Gulgren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
These are okay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nancy Daine
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Used 1 apple and cut it up into small pieces, halved the rest of the ingredients. Cooked in my deep fryer. Fast, easy and delish! I don't like overly sweet things. This is great, puffed up nicely ( so drop small gobs into the oil!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Daine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Groton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
to MOAA....right on with the addition of vanilla extract!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I used coconut,barley and white flour, raw sugar, doubled the batter, added extra cinnamon, nutmeg, and used almond oil & a little olive oil for cooking, they turned out too good, shared with neighbor and froze some. I would make this again, I tried to make a unhealthy snack somewhat healthy if that makes any sense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
My 6 kids ages 4-12 made this themselves, instructions were easy to follow. I did do the deep frying. It turned out amazing. We did add cinnamon to the batter, they disappeared faster than I could cook them n
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I converted this to make it vegan. I added vanilla, cinnamon, ginger, and nutmeg. Swapped out apple sauce for egg, soy milk for milk, and doubled the baking powder. They turned out delicious and next time I'm going to dice the apple smaller and make mimi fritters!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma Strowger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
These apple fritters are little plumps of heaven in your mouth!! I add cinnamon to the mix and coat with cinnamon sugar combo. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States