Mom's Apple Fritters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
This is a basic fritter batter which I have used for decades for making all kinds of fritters. For most fruit fritters I add cinnamon to the batter to amp up the flavor. The outcome taste wise when it comes to apple fritters depends a lot on what variety of apple you use. This batter, minus the cinnamon, makes great corn fritters which are wonderful when eaten hot with maple syrup. Also the flavor of cinnamon sugar will vary depending on the ratio of cinnamon to sugar. My rule of thumb is 1 part cinnamon to 4 parts granulated sugar. Cinnamon may also be added to powdered sugar for dusting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Just like my mom made for us after church on cold days. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Just like my Grandmother used to make for us. Instead of cinnamon sugar, we ate these with maple syrup poured over them. Brought back wonderful memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
i made this twice, once without changing anything and then ... the second time i added a LOT of cinnamon, no oil, 2 large apples skin on instead of 3 cups of apples. i used half milk/half apple cider instead of just milk. i made a simple glaze with apple cider and powder sugar... HOLY MOLEY!! YUMMM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Made these last night thinking I could warm them up for a quick breakfast.............they didn't last an hour! My picky, picky kids loved them! Didn't change a thing and would definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharmen Hall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Half batch w/ Macintosh apples and cinnamon sugar- also rice milk due to allergy- absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chase Sanibel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebecca Matyjasik Stearns
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I put a glaze on the fritters and they were so good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
They were mushy & doughy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
These were really good! I read all the reviews so added 2 tbs white sugar to the batter instead of just one, 2 tsp cinnamon and a couple pinches of nutmeg. I always use almond milk because we don't drink regular milk. I turned the deep fryer on 350 which worked out really good. I also made these bite sized since everyone said they puffed up so much. I rolled some in cinnamon sugar, some in powdered sugar and some I topped with a powdered sugar mixed with water glaze. Most liked the cinnamon sugar the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Never made fritters before. Followed recipe exactly and they came out great. I rolled half in cinnamon sugar and half in powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiesmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States