Mommy's Sweet Carrot Milk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
DELICIOUS and PRETTY :) I would serve this to anyone who I know enjoys indian food. I liked it warm as well as chilled.. even over ice. Cold was refreshing and both temps. were comforting. So glad you posted this recipe. We'll be enjoying it regularly at least throughout spring and summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I love it! This is one good way to get the carrots down. I think I can even see better! He He!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHEWETT
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
Very Good but Very Sweet. Instead of cardamom I used a mixture of ginger and cinnamon. I also cut the recipe in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
I expected this to be great after reading the reviews, but I disliked it and wound up throwing it away. It was WAY too sugary, and I didn't like the cardamom flavor in it. I'm giving it two stars instead of one because I'm not very familiar with Indian food, and maybe this is very authentic and I'd like it if I had been raised drinking it. The idea of pureeing carrots into milk still appeals to me (I couldn't taste the carrots at all), and I might try it again someday, but I'll cut the sugar way down and try spices other than cardamom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
I really liked this recipe, the kids said it was a little bitter in the finish but I attribute that to not cooking the carrots long enough before blending. You have to shake before pouring as the carrot pulp settles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise T.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Siletz, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fruitland Park, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
It was ok. I used cinnamon / ginger, like others suggested. I would definitely cook carrots a little longer in pan, to make them more soft (easier to work with). My husband and I werent too impressed with this recipe; however, my 2-year old son drank alot of it. I may make it again.. not sure though..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kimbernic
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
I had some carrots I was looking to use and I also had some ground cardamom so I thought I would give it a try. I am so glad I did. I loved it! By the way, I don’t know how good of a substitute the ginger and cinnamon would be. The cardamom spice is a little pricey but is very distinct and unique. It is a key spice in chai tea. If you like chai tea you would probably enjoy this recipe too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimbernic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
I really enjoyed this drink. I would rate it 5 stars except for that I had to cook the carrots longer than the recipe said to get them "blendable." Other than that, very good and easy. I did use soy milk so my 4 year old could have some and he really liked it. First time I have gotten him to voluntarily put carrot anything in his mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SB
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
This is good, but ive never tasted anything like it. I did follow previous reviewers instructions to add less sugar and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
I used less sugar, it came out very nice. I've never had carrot milk before, a god way to use up old carrots. I liked it both hot and cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot and Orange Juice

Use your juicer to make a quick, fresh, and delicious morning drink.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Dannon Oikos Sweet Summer Smoothie

Fruit blended with creamy yogurt and cold milk makes a refreshing summer snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States