Mommy's Sweet Carrot Milk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2013
Loved this recipe! Did use a lot less sugar though.. Cut it by nearly half. The cardamom is an inspired touch, gives the milk a zing. I hate the taste of carrots normally, so this was a good way of disguising it. Even my seven month old tried a few sips and adored it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
This beverage is delicious. Ginger and cinnamon are not substitutes for cardamom. Cardamom is the flavor you are looking for here. Might want to dial down the sweetness level a bit, but otherwise a tasty little drink recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
If you want warm and relaxing drink this fresh from the stove it is so delicious and will put you to sleep... or you can let it chill and it is cool and refreshing... I put mine in the blender after adding everything to the milk because it was still a little chunky and it did the trick.. it did make the milk very foamy and thickened it briefly... if you are going to drink it warm I highly recommend doing this... it was awesome... I did cut the sugar in half and it was still plenty sweet for me... good recipe I am glad I gave it a try!! UPDATE: Also tastes good with a sprinkle of cinnamon or for a different taste substitute cardamom.... still very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
This was interesting. It kind of tasted like regular milk flavored like sweet potato pie. I changed the serving to 2 with the calculate button. It called for about 1/2 carrot, but I just used 1 large carrot peeled. I cooked it in the microwave, in 4 large pieces, with about 1/2 cup or so of water, covered, for 4 minutes. To lighten it up, I subbed the sugar with 2 packets of Truvia for the 2 servings. I just blended the carrots with the milk and sweetener in the blender at once. Blend for at least 1 minute or so, to combine the carrot smoothly and avoid carrot bits. I sprinkled a little cinnamon on the top of each glass, instead of using cardamom or blending. I don't why, but this drink gave me a huge energy boost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Made some modifications. 1. Smaller servings i.e. 2 2. Reduced sugar by 1/2 3. Instead of cardamon, a small pinch of cinnamon powder 4. Blended carrots with some milk (maybe about 1/4) 5. Then boiled the rest of the milk (3/4) with sugar, cinnamon and the 1/4 Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This is a tasty recipe but I cut back the sugar to 2 cups and it was still too sweet. I would make it again and try 1 or 1 1/2 cups of sugar. Also, I didn't have cardamom so I used some chai tea instead (1 tbsp of loose chai mix or 1 chai tea bag). Love that it's so few ingredients...worth making again and tweaking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
I used less sugar, it came out very nice. I've never had carrot milk before, a god way to use up old carrots. I liked it both hot and cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SB
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
This is good, but ive never tasted anything like it. I did follow previous reviewers instructions to add less sugar and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
I really enjoyed this drink. I would rate it 5 stars except for that I had to cook the carrots longer than the recipe said to get them "blendable." Other than that, very good and easy. I did use soy milk so my 4 year old could have some and he really liked it. First time I have gotten him to voluntarily put carrot anything in his mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kimbernic
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
I had some carrots I was looking to use and I also had some ground cardamom so I thought I would give it a try. I am so glad I did. I loved it! By the way, I don’t know how good of a substitute the ginger and cinnamon would be. The cardamom spice is a little pricey but is very distinct and unique. It is a key spice in chai tea. If you like chai tea you would probably enjoy this recipe too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimbernic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot and Orange Juice

Use your juicer to make a quick, fresh, and delicious morning drink.

Dannon Oikos Sweet Summer Smoothie

Fruit blended with creamy yogurt and cold milk makes a refreshing summer snack.

Jamie's Sweet and Easy Corn on the Cob

Quick and easy recipe for boiled corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States