Mommy's Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
This was alright. It wasn't as good as I expected. My only change was to add around 1 tsp. of garlic powder. I probably will not be making this again. It was just too bland for me. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
We were skeptical as this dish was cooking, but have no fear, this was delicious! Didn't have Kaiser rolls, so we piled it on Texas toast and put them in the over open-faced, which browned the top nicely. It didn't look all that appetizing, but we were pleasantly surprized at how tasty this was--like a very cheesy cheeesburger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
This looked like "hamburger helper without the noodles on a bun." Taste was okay. I think the meat mix could benefit from some spices, even though I did add a dash of garlic/onion powder when I added the soup...but it needed "more." The combination of the funky look and mediocre taste makes me wonder if I'll try this again. It wasn't bad but I think it needs a little more "Umph" to get me to make it twice. However, it was a snap to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
Did not like this, at all. The mushroom flavour was overpowering, it was too bland, and crusty bread ended up going soggy!! That never happens! I highly recommend anyone skip out on this one, and I will not be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
Adding a little beef base with water, then adding the mushroom soup and cooking down another 5-8 mins before adding the cheese seemed to help my ground round. I also added fresh garlic with the veggies. I think ground chuck or a good hamburger meat can make a great difference. My husband thought it tasted like a ground beef "Philly Steak" sandwich. Very, very tasty and a much better alternative to a sloppy joe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
Very yummy and fills you up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Our family really enjoyed this recipe, but I did add to it for more flavor. As a starting point it is great, but bland. It needs salt and pepper to taste. I also added a teaspoon of chopped garlic and 2 tablespoons of Worcestershire sauce. This gave it that philly cheesesteak flavor. I am trying to watch my bread intake so my serving was baked in a yellow bell pepper. I doubled the mushrooms as well as chopped the onions and peppers up real well so the kiddo wouldn't feel the need to pick them out. (she didn't!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Babygirl77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by delicious
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
this is a good recipe im one of the few that has to make changes so my family will eat it so first we used just hamburger fried with spaghetti sauce we baked the buns with cheese in the bottom and on the tops for dipping then added the sauce and the kids loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by delicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mission, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Popkum, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
Very good! I used fresh mushrooms and added garlic. The second time I made these, I didn't bake them, just toasted the buns and served open faced. Added some pepper and spices too. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
This is a great to-go dinner. I made it one night before my husband and son left to go hunting. I left the sandwiches wrapped in foil and placed them in a brown paper bag to go - they were still hot when they arrived and they both loved them. It is now one of our family's favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

See how to make a top-rated meatloaf that’s quick and easy.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States