Mommy's Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by BrittanyGossin
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
You can bake the bananas on 425 for 8 min to help mash them up. It was really easy when I did that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
I have made this recipe many times now. It is my favorite. It has the right amount of sweetness. My whole family loves it. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Delicious, delicious! I added an extra banana, which made the recipe more moist and tasty. The sugared crust was a nice touch. I was even shocked how good this came out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I love this recipe....the sugar crust is awesome. I added 1/2 c chopped pecans and was even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Great recipe without the baking soda. Dropped the sugar down to 1/2 cup, used whole wheat flour and used 1/4 Torchbearer's Mango Papaya Sauce. Came out moist with half the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Cotta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I made muffins out of this recipe. It was a little work buttering and cinnamon-sugaring the little muffin cups but the end result was worth it. I remarked to my husband how much they looked like snickerdoodles on the top and after I tasted them, it is remarkably like snickerdoodles.......banana snickerdoodles! I'll make this recipe again, it's one of the better banana breads I've had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
I liked the cinnamon crust, it was very tasty. I wouldn't make this again, however. I found it fell apart and dried out too quickly, compared with my usual recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Fabulous banana bread! Moist, sweet with just enough spice and the cinnamon-sugar crust is a really nice addition - what more could you want from a banana bread? I used half white sugar and half brown sugar and added 2 tsp. of vanilla and used buttermilk instead of regular milk. I topped this with turbinado sugar vs. regular sugar for that little extra "crunch". This smelled wonderful while it baked and tasted even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
This is probably the best banana bread I've ever made. Usually sweet breads are so difficult and don't get done in the middle before burning. This one was perfectly done in the time specified. And the taste is outstanding! I do like the cinnamon sugar on the outside. I used turbinado sugar on the top instead of plain. I used buttermilk instead of regular just because I had some to use up. I didn't measure the bananas, just dumped in three medium sized ones that were completely black. This will be a repeat recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Easy and delicious! Love the spices. This is now my go-to banana bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States