Momma's Wine Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 25, 2008
This was just ok. It still tasted a lot like regular white cake mix even after doubling the nutmeg. The wine added some moisture, but it was barely detectable. The white cake mix and vanilla pudding were definitely the primary flavors in this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
Good, I took the advice of other reviews and added merlot - the taste was great, although the color (pasty grey) left something to be desired. Also, I didn't have nutmeg, so I use cinnamon instead. I served it at a dinner party with raspberry sorbet, and it seemed to be a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shenandoah, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
This recipe was made by my mom since I was a little girl. It was always at our family events, now that I am grown up I see what all the fuss was about. The smell reminds me of my mom and my family. Made small cupcakes for my sister for her wedding honeymoon to have a little with coffee every day in Maui. she loved it like I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
I've been using this recipe for over a year now, and it's fantastic. It's the best when you use a chocolate cake mix with port for the wine.......absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I made this for my mom's vineyard themed birthday, she absolutely loved it! I think I'll try chocolate with red rasberry dessert wine next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Plata, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I DESPISE box cake mixes, this one is different. I use a yellow cake mix, which seems to give the cake more body AND I use sherry wine instead of white wine, which also gives the cake more flavor. I sprinkle a GENEROUS amount of powdered sugar on top. My guests devour this cake and always ask for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
This was good - I made it for my husband to bring to work as I feed his co workers often - great reviews - used chardonney but will try merlot next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
I used Merlot and the cinn/sugar mixture suggested by others ... delicious! The taste is perfect, light and airy, super-moist, and not quite detectable as a wine flavor. Sprinkled cinn/sugar/powdered sugar mixture on top too. Would probably be really good with a bit of vanilla glaze. yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
A cake with wine...now that caught my eye! Ok, let me start by saying I love to make my own cakes from scratch, however...this bundt cake was fantastic with a little semi-homemade kick! The cake was so moist and flavorful! The only thing I changed with the recipe was to reduce the oil by 1/4 cup and replaced it with applesauce, and I followed other reviewers advice and dusted my bundt pan with cinnamon/sugar. I also made a cream cheese and white chocolate drizzle to go over the top...the entire cake was gone before I knew it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
Very moist, good texture, good baking instructions. I used the cin./sugar sugestion as well and served w/ fresh berries. Personally I think it could use more spices/flavor. Good, easy, quick recipe to thr. together for a quick brunch. Maybe I'll try it with merlot as others have sugested. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by secretsmile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States