Momma's Wine Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
this cake is much better using Duncan Hine's extra moist yellow cake mix instead of white mix. try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
OMG! Quick, go make this cake! Don't bother to read anymore reviews...this is THE one!! Make it exactly, don't make any changes and just eat it. Eat it straight from the cake pan, I won't tell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Thank You..Thank You..I don't go a year without making several of these cakes to give as gifts and to enjoy on our holiday table :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A911MOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brunswick, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Absolutely a great cake - the aroma will fill the house it smells great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Edwin H. Kluge Jr.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakland Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This cake is the BEST for a quick, simple and tasty choice! I also make a chocolate version using red wine and ground ginger with chocolate cake and pudding - delish! I prefer the confectioner's sugar on the chocolate cake and I coat the inside of the baking pan with colored sugar or holiday candy pieces (the type from a shaker in the baking aisle) for the vanilla version. This one is always a winner when I make it - everyone LOVES it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
My mother-in-law used to make "wine cake" often, for special occasions or Sunday get togethers. There were never leftovers. I wanted to know how she made it, but it was a family secret not to be shared. After 25 years and the invention of computers and the "internet", YAHOO, i entered "wine cake" in the browser and low and behold, here is a recipe thats near close to what she baked. I spoke with my sister-in-law the other night about the recipe, she has offered to give it to me, but it seems its the same as this one. One difference, I doubled this batch and used one box white cake mix and one box yellow cake mix. I also used 3/4 applesauce and topped off with the veggie oil. I used chardonnay, although any dry wine will do. Make sure you use INSTANT pudding. I think the vanilla pudding mix gives it that added moistness. I couldn't find the exact frosting she made, so I used the Cream Cheese Frosting II and added 2 tsp white wine. After frosting the cake, I sprinkled chopped walnuts for a great finish. The family loved it and requests are pouring in for Christmas. Thanks Again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V.Naehu808

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waianae, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Yum! I made these for christmas as gifts for all my friends. Everyone loved them. Its super moist and the flavor is amazing. Ive used different wines and it always tastes great. Ive used different cake mixes: yellow, white, french vanilla, etc. The cinnamon and sugar is good, my husband loves it that way, but I prefer it plain or with powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Marckwordt- Lowery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I've been making this cake forever! we usually add poppy seeds and leave out the nutmeg. Lately, I've been adding 8 oz of sour cream which makes it really moist. For the wine I used sherry. I made the mistake of taking it out at 45 minutes once and it was not very good. Make sure to leave it in for 50 min even if the outside is getting brown. Next time I'm going to make it lowfat by using apple sauce. I think it will taste the same but I won't feel so guilty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Vero Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
so easy and so delicious! used french vanilla instant pudding, fresh nutmeg and cut up fresh strawberries and raspberries w/ a dollop or two of whipped cream! ........GONE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHATTY304

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
This is a great recipe! I made it with a white late-harvest dessert wine since I didn't have any regular white wine. Now I'd like to try it with a red velvet mix and a red dessert wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIGNEZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States