Momma's Wine Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I made two batches of cupcakes for a friend's birthday party. One batch with merlot and topped with white icing and one batch with white zin and topped with pink cream cheese frosting. Everyone loved them and had to try both flavors and everyone wanted the recipe. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Excellent, easy, and a hit among EVERYONE! I added a tsp of cinnamon on top of the nutmeg and it turned out extra delicious. It was so good that my friends couldn't stop eating it! I love the consistency and the flavour. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I did not care for this. Maybe the type of wine really matters. I used a chardonnay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
followed this exactly. It was very easy but that was it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Except for the nutmeg, my Grandmother has always made this cake! It's amazing, it does taste best the day after it is baked. This is my favorite cake ever. ( Oh, you can use red wine but your cake will turn out greenish in color, the taste is still amazing!) We use Mascoto white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glimmer

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
The cake is in the oven now, so not sure but it looks great! Just wish they had specified which "white" wine to use! I thought it might be sweet so got a sweet red thinking it would be pink but it's gray! But as long as it's great tasting, that's all that matters since it's for an anniversary party that the baker at the last minute backed out of!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Easy to make, tastes good and is very moist. I like the fact that you can add various fruits or just dust it with powdered sugar and it makes a nice presentation with a small amount of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
feed 17
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kailla Camberdella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
We loved this cake! Admittedly I only had a small box of the vanilla pudding on hand and used that, but I used the kind of cake mix that already had pudding in it so maybe that came out even. The texture of this wonderful cake was just as good as the great flavor! This will definitely go into my preferred recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This was quite a good cake. I'm still searching for a good wine to use with it. I didn't like the merlot (it was not the best flavour combination; or at least it wasn't my preference) and white zinfandel is too mild. White cooking wine didn't do it for me either. Will keep trying new wines until I find the right one. Great base recipe! Just a note - the pudding is equal to 2 x 4 serving packages of pudding. I messed that up the first time. It wasn't bad, but not the same flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camrose, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States