Momma's Wine Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Great for the holidays! Amazingly moist and fragrant. I made a glaze by combining 1/2 cup wine and 1 and 1/2 cup confectioners sugar. Pour half of the glaze when the cake is still warm and then the other half when it has cooled. Then I dusted with powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
This cake is easy, moist and I love the crust. Thank you for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I made this last year for Christmas and because the store was out of vanilla pudding, I substituted French Vanilla pudding, and it was awesome. I am afraid not to make it without French Vanilla! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I love the way the wine makes the cake taste. I feel that it also makes it lighter. I like to use this for cakes even if it's not a bundt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy of Five

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
This cake disappeared quickly! I agree with some of the other posters that all you can taste is the cake mix. But that's when it's warm. When it's cold the wine flavor really does come out. This is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I made this recipe with yellow cake mix instead of white because I like it better. I also only used 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg because I wanted only a hint of it. I felt a whole teaspoon was too much. For the wine I used a Riesling because its my favorite. I served it with whip cream and strawberries (Riesling goes great with strawberries). My sister who doesn't even like sweets even loved it. She described is as a sophisticated shortcake with the hint of nutmeg and wine flavor. I will continue to make this again and again because its easy, tastes amazing, and very affordable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Angeles, Washington, USA
Living In: Cheney, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Delicious just as written! The aroma while baking was a bit out of the ordinary, but not unpleasant. The cake was super moist and even better two days after making it. There are lots of possibilities for variation and tweaks too. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
followed directions exactly.... YUM. kids and i couldn't stop eating it!! this is a very dangerous cake :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
I started using this recipe about a year ago for one of my clients who wanted something different for her husband's birthday. I use white chocolate pudding mix (when I can find it in my rural grocery store) and rose wine. Baked in rounds and then frosted with a white chocolate buttercream. It's the only cake she orders now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
This was easy to throw together and turned out very moist. I chose to "flour" my pan with the cinnamon-sugar as suggested in the foonote. It has a delicate flavor. My husband ate his slice with strawberry jam, but I can see this going well with strawberries in a lite syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States