Momma's Wheat Germ Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jim B
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
This recipe is great! My friends and family liked it. They keep hinting that I should make more. People at work also enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
These were simply amazing. I added chocolate chips and coconut to mine, and a few extra oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
These cookies are great. My kids love them. You can add any variaton of ingredients and they are amazing, just use your imagination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stphard212

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2004
The wheat germ is subtle. I added chocolate chips. I made them twice within a couple of weeks to use up wheat germ that was about to expire. A nice chewy/crunchy oatmeal cookie with a twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
Great recipe! I made some changes, but they are also delicious as-is. I reduced white sugar to 1/2 cup and they were still quite sweet (you could probably eliminate the white sugar all together if you wanted). I used 1/2 whole wheat flour and half white. I omitted the dates and added butterscotch chips. VERY TASTY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
My husband eats nothing with nuts or coconut in it - for 10 years I have not been able to trick him into trying them! He saw me put the nuts in these, but not the coconut, but they must have looked so good he was willing to try. He can't stop eating them now, even though I confessed to the coconut. Truly magical cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tt2b123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
Great cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I made these for my toddler, however, my husband and I ended up eating most of the cookies. I used only about a ¼ cup of white sugar as advised by other reviews and it was plenty sweet. The next time I make these I think I will omit the white sugar all together. I also omitted the coconut, pecans, dates and added about 3 cups of raisins (because they were supposed to be for my toddler…). Everyone who tried them loved them. I may use additional oats the next time I make them as another reviewer did for more of a “healthy” cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
I would suggest trying these cookies, they sound unusual, but are very good. Firstly, the 10 min time @ 325 takes too long, so I upped temp to 375. If you use sweetened coconut flakes then use 1/4 cup less sugar overall. And half the dates and add 1/2 cup of semi sweet chocolate chips. Its a good cookie, it takes a long time to cook 60 cookies, but its well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
Yummy!! I left the dates out, but otherwise made it as called for. If you're not a sugar freak, they might be a bit too sweet, so you probably could leave out 1/4-1/2 cup sugar and they'd taste fine. I used a medium scoop to make my cookies and they turned out to be a nice size, but a little thin in the middle after they were finished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States