Momma's Wheat Germ Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
Great recipe! I made some changes, but they are also delicious as-is. I reduced white sugar to 1/2 cup and they were still quite sweet (you could probably eliminate the white sugar all together if you wanted). I used 1/2 whole wheat flour and half white. I omitted the dates and added butterscotch chips. VERY TASTY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Excellent cookie. After reading the reviews I didn't add any white sugar at all. Turned out just right for us. I didn't have alot left in my cupboard so I used raisins in place of coconut and almonds in place of peacans. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
I would suggest trying these cookies, they sound unusual, but are very good. Firstly, the 10 min time @ 325 takes too long, so I upped temp to 375. If you use sweetened coconut flakes then use 1/4 cup less sugar overall. And half the dates and add 1/2 cup of semi sweet chocolate chips. Its a good cookie, it takes a long time to cook 60 cookies, but its well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2004
The wheat germ is subtle. I added chocolate chips. I made them twice within a couple of weeks to use up wheat germ that was about to expire. A nice chewy/crunchy oatmeal cookie with a twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
My husband eats nothing with nuts or coconut in it - for 10 years I have not been able to trick him into trying them! He saw me put the nuts in these, but not the coconut, but they must have looked so good he was willing to try. He can't stop eating them now, even though I confessed to the coconut. Truly magical cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tt2b123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
these are very good. crisp and chewy. between the total 4 cups of coconut, pecans, dates, I Substituted 1c. coconut, 1.5cups pecans, 3/4cup raisins, and 3/4 cup chocolate chips. I also added 1/2 teaspn of cinnamon and 1/8 teaspoon of nutmeg. THEY ARE KILLER! soooooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evh

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
Yummy!! I left the dates out, but otherwise made it as called for. If you're not a sugar freak, they might be a bit too sweet, so you probably could leave out 1/4-1/2 cup sugar and they'd taste fine. I used a medium scoop to make my cookies and they turned out to be a nice size, but a little thin in the middle after they were finished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
Great cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
so delicious! My whole family ate these up. I used about a third less sugar and used mostly whole wheat flour. i did not have coconut, pecans or dates so I just used mini choc chips! i will be making these again and again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I had my reservations about this recipe, but aside from being just the tiniest bit too sweet it is an outstanding recipe with a thin, crispy, delicious outcome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States