Momma's Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Three stars if prepared as written - 30 minutes at 350 degrees is neither long enough nor hot enough to cook the potatoes let alone brown them. Raise the temperature to 450, however, and you'll have nicely browned potatoes with somewhat crispy edges and a creamy interior. I turned the potatoes 15 minutes into cooking time, then turned them and roasted them for an additional 10 minutes. Great eye appeal, and they taste as good as they look. Easily five stars just by raising the oven temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
These are GREAT potatoes...I added salt, pepper, garlic, and cajun seasoning to the rosemary/oil base...I sliced my potatoes instead of quartering(to speed up the cooking process...and make more crunchy area) and they were GREAT!! These are some of the best potatoes I have had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
These potatoes were a little bland for my taste. I adore rosemary, but I felt that they were somehow lacking. Oh, here's a tip for the seasoning: take a zippered plastic bag and throw the potatoes inside after cutting and then pour the oil-rosemary mixture in as well. Close and shake. One less bowl to wash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apple Jacks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2000
I've been looking for a basic recipe for oven fried potatoes...Thanks to Sarah and Annette, I have it at last!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This recipe is a favorite at my house except i cut smaller pieces and shake them in a zip-loc bag to coat them. After the 30 min I top them with fresh grated parmesan cheese and put them in for 5 more min they are amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
I would suggest much smaller pieces or else the potatoes have to dry out to cook through. Easy to make and the flavor was good (make sure you like rosemary)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
You know, they serve these potatoes everywhere in Italy. They are all crispy on the outside, creamy in the middle, and flavored with olive oil and rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahParadis

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2000
Simple And easy. My whole family liked these potatoes. I also added fresh Italian parsley from my garden and used fresh rosemary as well--These potatoes will ceretainly be a regular menu item in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Excellent! I used red potatoes and added a little garlic to the oil. Also, I used the broiler on the oven for a few minutes at the end of baking to make the potatoes crispier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2000
The potatoes were not cooked properly after 30 minutes, it took an extra 10 minutes, and they still were not browned. Instead of Yukon gold potatoes, we used the baby red potatoes which were even smaller and should have taken less time to cook. I don't think I would make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Oven Roasted Parmesan Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, crispy, delicious roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States