Momma's Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
These came out nice, fluffy, and flavorful! I did add a some fresh minced chives and sprinkled some french fried onions on top and these were a great accompaniment to our fish. Basic mashed potatoes that go great with traditional dishes! Thanks MN MOM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2003
Very good! I can finally make mashed potatoes - I've had disaters before! I also used a masher on the potatoes then whipped them & the other ingredients with my mixer because I like my mashed potatoes creamy! I used evaporated milk in place of the half-&-half (a little more than 1/4 cup), about 1/4 t black pepper, and between 1-2 t salt. I also added about 2 t butter extract so they were more buttery flavored without the added fat/calories. Next time I'm going to try fat free evaporated milk to make them even healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BONNIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austintown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Milton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
These were okay. I think the recipe would be better using smaller, red potatoes. They needed to be cooked longer than it says, and they turned out dry. If you are using Yukon gold potatoes, I would suggest cutting them into eight pieces instead of four.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
Boy, these are good - don't know what the egg white does, but they came out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Great recipe! My first time to make mashed potatoes and they turned out awesome! I used more half and half than called for but I think I had more potatoes. Awesome mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Baytown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
These are incredibly yummy, by far the best basic mashed potato recipe I've found so far. Be careful not to get overzealous with the lemon juice - if you put too much in, it definitely overpowers and ruins the dish. But it does add a nice touch, so I advise that you not omit it completely. Otherwise, it's open to variation...i've done it with or without the half and half, with roasted garlic, green onions, etc. All quite yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
the lemon juisce gives it the right hit of flavor and my hubby loves it. It's flavorful and uplifting not weighed down by butter taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAFIRO80

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
Very good. I will admit that the lemon was a bit overpowering...I don't think that I will add next time. But still very good. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
My wife prepared these mashed potatoes and they were good. They were a little dry with only a 1/2 cup of half-and-half, but nonetheless, I thought that this was a good all-around hearty batch of mashed tators. It's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
Wow, these are REALLY fluffy. Turned out nicely. Thanx for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States