Momma's Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
Boy, these are good - don't know what the egg white does, but they came out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
These were okay. I think the recipe would be better using smaller, red potatoes. They needed to be cooked longer than it says, and they turned out dry. If you are using Yukon gold potatoes, I would suggest cutting them into eight pieces instead of four.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2003
Great easy recipe...good for week night meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
These came out nice, fluffy, and flavorful! I did add a some fresh minced chives and sprinkled some french fried onions on top and these were a great accompaniment to our fish. Basic mashed potatoes that go great with traditional dishes! Thanks MN MOM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
This is a great simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2003
very good and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tcovey45

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2003
Very good! I can finally make mashed potatoes - I've had disaters before! I also used a masher on the potatoes then whipped them & the other ingredients with my mixer because I like my mashed potatoes creamy! I used evaporated milk in place of the half-&-half (a little more than 1/4 cup), about 1/4 t black pepper, and between 1-2 t salt. I also added about 2 t butter extract so they were more buttery flavored without the added fat/calories. Next time I'm going to try fat free evaporated milk to make them even healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BONNIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austintown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Milton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2003
This is the way mashed potatoes are supposed to taste. Rich, creamy and wonderful. So there's a million calories in each bite. It's so worth it. I served these delicious mashed potatoes with chicken fried steak and gravy. There's nothing I can think of that would have made this any better. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2003
I was very pleased with this recipe. I wish I understood what the lemon juice a egg white did but why question what works? I made about a triple batch of this but used only 1/2 cup half and half not only because that is all I had on hand but I like stiff mashed potatoes. Thanks, Minnesotamom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Pittsburg, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
Made these for Thanksgiving and everyone loved them! Like everyone else, I don't know what the egg whites do. I was a little leery of adding them at the end...I hope the heat of the potatoes cooked them? A good no frills recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Strongsville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States