Momma's Cornbread Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
As the original cooks of the family hang up their aprons, I've been forced to learn and this recipe was perfect! With some tips from my mom, I did some slight changes: I used both yellow and mexican style cornbread mix (by Martha White), gives it great flavor and a little spice. I saute my celery, onions and green bell peppers. I use raw eggs to bind and no hard cooked eggs. On occassion I add shredded turkey. I'm hungry for it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimL
Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
this is a good base recipe. i had to add alot of seasoning to it. it just was too plain without doing so. i loved the chopped boiled eggs in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen73076

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryson City, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Blountville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This was a great great cornbread dressing. I made it for thanksgiving. I did however did not all of the chicken broth the recipe called for only because I was scared it would be to mushy. But it still turned out great. I will be keeping this and making it again for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeburg, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Texas cornbread dressing at it's finest. Although I never got my grandmother's recipe (she never wrote her recipes down), it takes just like hers. I've been making this for the last two Thanksgivings - just now getting around to rating the recipe. I get all kinds of compliments on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I had been looking for a traditional, southern dressing recipe and this was perfect. I added 1/2 cup more broth (we like our dressing very moist), and extra spices (1 t. thyme and 1 t. savory). It was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I made my two cornbread loaves using Jiffy mix. For each loaf I added an extra egg, half a stick of melted butter, and 1/4 cup of sugar. Requires a slightly longer cooking time, but it is well worth it. Followed this dressing recipe pretty closely (except the boiled egg) and it was divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karla Jamaica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I picked this recipe as it was closest to what my mom made. Mine turned out a little dry only because I didn't add all the chicken broth/stock it called for. It said add till moist not wet, so I was afraid to add more. It was good and the gravey helped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burleson, Texas, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Excellent recipe. Used it for a dinner at work. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This was the closest thing that I have found to my Grandmas recipe. I made it this past Thanksgiving and it was a complete hit! I will definitely be making this again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
just like my granny's recipe except 4 the eggs so i left them out. i did add 1 whole egg 2 the mix like my granny did to hold it all together and i seasoned w/ garlic, salt, pepper, thyme, and sage. yummmy!!! reminded me so much of her! thanks so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Martin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Southern Cornbread Dressing

This rich Southern dressing includes chicken and eggs.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States