Momma OB's Chicken Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
Overall this was a satisfying and very healthy meal! It really couldn't have been any easier to prepare. The only changes I made were: I used chicken stock instead of water since I had some to use up, I added a little red wine, added one minced habanero pepper w/out the seeds, and after it was done cooking I was a little dissapointed since it looked more like a soup with chunks of chicken in it so I shredded the chicken and it looked more like a traditional chili. The chicken was so soft it literally just fell apart when I smooshed it with the spoon I was using to stir it. It is a very hearty and healthy meal!! I served it with sour cream, cheese, and biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
I ACTUALLY THOUGHT THIS WAS SORT OF BLAND...I THINK I WOULD RATHER HAVE CHILI WITH GROUND BEEF.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
I was pleasantly surprised by this recipe. It was a great way to use up the rest of the meat from a baked chicken I had made the day before. It turned out to be really good. I skipped the kidney beans and put in black beans instead. I made cornbread to go with it, and it was a perfect meal. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
i fixed this for my family tonight and they loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2004
Two stars because I'm a chili fanatic and this was just REALLY bland. My kids thought I was giving them pasta sauce with chicken because of it's consistancy. It was quick and easy and a great way to use leftover chicken, but we won't be using it as a chili again...maybe as a pasta sauce, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
It was pretty good but the whole family agreed we prefer beef chili. I just thought I would try something different. Also I was a little confused on the 16oz. can of "chili beans". I thought chili beans were kidney beans. I just added double the kidney beans. Michele, Cambridge Ontario
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHK35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2004
This was good and it was simple to put together. I made it in my slow cooker. This chili freezes well---we had two meals from this recipe. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
This recipe was pretty good. I got it started too late to put in the crock pot so I cooked it on the stove in a big pot. There were a few changes I made. I added about 1/2 T of chili powder because the Italian seasonings overpowered the taste and I omitted the water. I also didn't rinse the chili beans and next time I may add 2 cans chili beans and omit the kidney beans. It took about 2 hours on the stove to thicken up. The chicken started to shredd and was very tender so I may shredd it more next time. I added sour cream and shredded Mexican blend cheese when I served it. My husband liked it and I will probably make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
Great basic recipe to help create it and make it for your personal tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
This chili is excellent. I made one slight change to this recipe in that I shredded the chicken after it was cooked. But otherwise, you can't beat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili

This zesty white-bean chili packs some heat!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States