Momma OB's Chicken Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
Overall this was a satisfying and very healthy meal! It really couldn't have been any easier to prepare. The only changes I made were: I used chicken stock instead of water since I had some to use up, I added a little red wine, added one minced habanero pepper w/out the seeds, and after it was done cooking I was a little dissapointed since it looked more like a soup with chunks of chicken in it so I shredded the chicken and it looked more like a traditional chili. The chicken was so soft it literally just fell apart when I smooshed it with the spoon I was using to stir it. It is a very hearty and healthy meal!! I served it with sour cream, cheese, and biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
I ACTUALLY THOUGHT THIS WAS SORT OF BLAND...I THINK I WOULD RATHER HAVE CHILI WITH GROUND BEEF.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
I was pleasantly surprised by this recipe. It was a great way to use up the rest of the meat from a baked chicken I had made the day before. It turned out to be really good. I skipped the kidney beans and put in black beans instead. I made cornbread to go with it, and it was a perfect meal. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
i fixed this for my family tonight and they loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2004
Two stars because I'm a chili fanatic and this was just REALLY bland. My kids thought I was giving them pasta sauce with chicken because of it's consistancy. It was quick and easy and a great way to use leftover chicken, but we won't be using it as a chili again...maybe as a pasta sauce, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
It was pretty good but the whole family agreed we prefer beef chili. I just thought I would try something different. Also I was a little confused on the 16oz. can of "chili beans". I thought chili beans were kidney beans. I just added double the kidney beans. Michele, Cambridge Ontario
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHK35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2004
This was good and it was simple to put together. I made it in my slow cooker. This chili freezes well---we had two meals from this recipe. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
This recipe was pretty good. I got it started too late to put in the crock pot so I cooked it on the stove in a big pot. There were a few changes I made. I added about 1/2 T of chili powder because the Italian seasonings overpowered the taste and I omitted the water. I also didn't rinse the chili beans and next time I may add 2 cans chili beans and omit the kidney beans. It took about 2 hours on the stove to thicken up. The chicken started to shredd and was very tender so I may shredd it more next time. I added sour cream and shredded Mexican blend cheese when I served it. My husband liked it and I will probably make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
Great basic recipe to help create it and make it for your personal tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
This chili is excellent. I made one slight change to this recipe in that I shredded the chicken after it was cooked. But otherwise, you can't beat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Buffalo Chicken Chili by PAM®

See how to make a comfort food classic with black beans and chicken.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States