Momma Moots' Pork and Pierogies Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
My whole family really enjoyed this! I used light sour cream and added some chopped fresh spinach like another reviewer suggested. I also sauteed the onions with the pork and mixed it all together in the same pan I cooked the pork and onions in. Incredibly good and definatly a keeper! Its sort of a different take on chicken and dumplings! Thx for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
WOW! Am I glad I stumbled across this recipe today. Started out thinking I was going to make the same tired pork roast; then found this recipe! Followed almost exactly; with the exception of omitting the sour cream as I was out, but adding 1/4 cup more milk. Was plenty creamy though with the milk and cream soup. Also used thyme as I don't care for rosemary. And finally I chopped up fresh spinach for a healthier bite and some color! This was a great casserole for a healthy and unique choice. WILL CERTAINLY MAKE AGAIN!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I used 2 packs mini cheese and potato pierogies, left over pork roast sauteed with whole medium onion, cream of chicken soup the sour cream and milk and a bag of fresh baby spinach. Topped with sharp cheddar cheese. My family loved this recipe and it was gone in minutes. Next time I'll make two so there's leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
My fiance and me tryed this recipe other night sounded a little weird at first I never exactly heard of pierogies in a casserole before but I'm so glad we tried it. I made it pretty much is above Except I just roasted the pork instead And no onions. Even my super extra picky fiance loved it and that's when you know it's good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
great use of leftover pork roast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
What a great recipe to use up leftover pork loin, which is what I used. I used all the ingredients the recipe called for, just in different forms. My pork was leftovers, I made ‘Cream of Anything Soup’ a personal recipe from AR – mine happened to be Cream of Pepper Soup using green and yellow peppers as we do not care for mushrooms, corn that I had froze rather than canned and Pepper Jack Cheese as I was out of Cheddar cheese. This came together quickly since my pork was already cooked. I just mixed up everything in the pan that I boiled the pierogies in and poured it in a casserole dish. This was hot and delicious in 35 minutes. I did let it rest for about 8 minutes before serving to let the cheese and soup set up just a little. I served this with ‘Coleslaw with Grapes and Spinach’ from AR and we had a wonderful dinner. DH & DS already called “dibs” on the leftovers. Thanks 3Scorpios for sharing this recipe. We love pierogies and I’m always looking for new ways to fix/serve them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I made it with Chicken. Very Tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MMMICHELLE
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
My husband raved over-the-moon about this dish; we attended college in Pittsburgh and this was such a delightful surprise--why didn't I ever think to put pierogies in a casserole?! I made the following changes, to suit our preferences: --Mini-pierogies instead of the large ones, so that they are bite-size like everything else in the dish. Also, I pan-fried them in butter instead of boiling them; they are so much tastier! --Cream of celery soup instead of cream of mushroom --Greek yogurt instead of sour cream --No corn --Sautéed onion slices to carmelize and then added pork to pan to cook --Doubled the cheese Thanks so much for a very tasty treat--will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I used ground pork and thyme instead of loin and rosemary but really who cares because this was just so very very good. My husband asked me to make it again the next day! I do lots of cooking and this recipe is cheap, quick, and tastes amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Defiance, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I made this recipe basically as is, except I used left over pork roast. This is comfort food for sure! We both had extra servings and were groaning on the couch. Very easy to prepare, and adaptable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Crusted Pork Tenderloin

Watch how to prepare a succulent herb-crusted pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States