Momma Moots' Pork and Pierogies Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
WOW! Am I glad I stumbled across this recipe today. Started out thinking I was going to make the same tired pork roast; then found this recipe! Followed almost exactly; with the exception of omitting the sour cream as I was out, but adding 1/4 cup more milk. Was plenty creamy though with the milk and cream soup. Also used thyme as I don't care for rosemary. And finally I chopped up fresh spinach for a healthier bite and some color! This was a great casserole for a healthy and unique choice. WILL CERTAINLY MAKE AGAIN!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Allison
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
I stumbled upon this recipe while searching high and low for a new dish to make for dinner for myself and my husband. After going over the ingredient list and the directions, I decided to give it a whirl. Guess what?? IT WAS AWESOME!! The prep stuff and cooking process was easy as can be. The hardest part was waiting for it to be finished so we could scarf it up!! The only thing that I will change the next time I make this (and I can guarantee you that I will definitely make this recipe again) is to sweat out the onions out for just a few minutes in a saute pan before adding them into the casserole mixture, as we found the onions to be a bit strong as they were listed in this recipe. Otherwise, it is pure casserole perfection!! Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful recipe with the universe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
My whole family really enjoyed this! I used light sour cream and added some chopped fresh spinach like another reviewer suggested. I also sauteed the onions with the pork and mixed it all together in the same pan I cooked the pork and onions in. Incredibly good and definatly a keeper! Its sort of a different take on chicken and dumplings! Thx for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
I made this to take to the field during harvest and it was a hit. Don't we love to tweak recipes!! I doubled the meat and perogies, sauted the onions after the meat and sprinkled the top with French's Fried Onions. I used Mrs. Dash and pepper as seasoning. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
My rating may be just a little off as I changed the recipe to fit my familys likes and dislikes. Chives,not rosemary added some broccoli I had leftover from the stuffed pork dinner the night before to add some color. I used the cooked pork cut into cubes, cream corn because that is what I had on hand. I have never cooked pierogies befor I'm glad I found them. The family loved it and I have a new goto casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robograndma
Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Meridian, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Made according to recipe. Tasty and something different that everyone in the family enjoyed. Everyone felt that the pierogies needed to be doubled for next time. Would also be very good with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roselle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I made this recipe basically as is, except I used left over pork roast. This is comfort food for sure! We both had extra servings and were groaning on the couch. Very easy to prepare, and adaptable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
What a great recipe to use up leftover pork loin, which is what I used. I used all the ingredients the recipe called for, just in different forms. My pork was leftovers, I made ‘Cream of Anything Soup’ a personal recipe from AR – mine happened to be Cream of Pepper Soup using green and yellow peppers as we do not care for mushrooms, corn that I had froze rather than canned and Pepper Jack Cheese as I was out of Cheddar cheese. This came together quickly since my pork was already cooked. I just mixed up everything in the pan that I boiled the pierogies in and poured it in a casserole dish. This was hot and delicious in 35 minutes. I did let it rest for about 8 minutes before serving to let the cheese and soup set up just a little. I served this with ‘Coleslaw with Grapes and Spinach’ from AR and we had a wonderful dinner. DH & DS already called “dibs” on the leftovers. Thanks 3Scorpios for sharing this recipe. We love pierogies and I’m always looking for new ways to fix/serve them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I used ground pork and thyme instead of loin and rosemary but really who cares because this was just so very very good. My husband asked me to make it again the next day! I do lots of cooking and this recipe is cheap, quick, and tastes amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Defiance, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I used 2 packs mini cheese and potato pierogies, left over pork roast sauteed with whole medium onion, cream of chicken soup the sour cream and milk and a bag of fresh baby spinach. Topped with sharp cheddar cheese. My family loved this recipe and it was gone in minutes. Next time I'll make two so there's leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Crusted Pork Tenderloin

Watch how to prepare a succulent herb-crusted pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States