'Momma Made Em' Chicken and Sausage Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Oooh, yum! I miss gumbo and jambalaya here in Mozambique, but I am able to find most of these ingred. here (except I brought my own cajun seas. from the U.S.) so I made this and even the locals who are helping us here love this. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Maputo, Maputo, Mozambique

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Beutiful recipe for a Gumbo beginner or someone short on time! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I loved this, though the rest of the family (3 kids and husband) not so enthusiastic. I loved the flavor. Actually didn't use the chicken. Used all fresh vegetables. Next time I might actually leave out the sausage - I thought it was great without it and don't need the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joshua F
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Just made this today. I uploaded a photo, great recipe. i subbed for fresh veggies, plus some tabasco and thyme. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joshua F
Home Town: Centralia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Oh yum, yum, yum yum! It took quite a while to make, but is very yummy! Here are my changes: First I chopped the sausage and cooked it in a skillet, reserving the grease in a measuring cup. I then cooked the chopped peppers, onions, and celery in the same pan until soft, the placed in a separate bowl. Next I cooked bacon to render the fat and poured the fat into the measuring cup until it reached 1/2. After removing the bacon, I poured back into the skillet the grease and flour and cooked to make roux for 20 minutes. While that was cooking, I cooked 8 chicken thighs in a stock pot with one small can of chicken broth. I removed the thighs when done, then cut them into pieces and put with the sausage and vegie mixture. When the roux was ready, I poured the chicken broth into the roux and stirred, then added the meat and vegie mixture. I added Zateran's creole seasoning to taste. I did not have the okra, so I added one can of red beans and a bit of corn for color. Stir well and serve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenvan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
OH MY GOODNESS! This is yummy and I don't even really like gumbo. I used all fresh veggies - the okra came from a friend's garden. I didn't put in the tomatoes because my son won't touch it then. Substituted a rotisserie chicken and added garlic, a tablespoon of Worcheshire, a squirt of tabasco and some thyme. Yep, this is a do over!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Awesome dish. I changed it a little bit. First, I only used fresh vegetables, including the tomatoes. I used chicken breast and turkey sausage. I also added a little bit of sherry. It was excellent!!! Thanks for the recipe, I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BelleTeteRouge
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
All, I do not know how to edit the recipe, but please use whatever sausage you like. Personally, I am not a huge fan of Andouille (even though it is more authentic) so I use my favorite. Thank you all for your reviews and comments! Everything on this recipe can be to taste. I now have to use fresh onion, celery & bell pepper because I cannot find it frozen here in Dallas. Just work with what you have, make sure to not burn the roux and it should all be good! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BelleTeteRouge
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
This was so easy to make and tasted great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
This was great!!!! It takes time and you have to be patient when making the roux, but it is well worth it!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States