Mom Sykes' Hungarian Goulash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Really good, the caraway seeds and lemon really make the difference in my opinion. I was out of sour cream and used 1/2 a pack of cream cheese. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder Creek, California, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
very similar to the way my mom used to make it, I Love it, and so does my family. I didn't have any caraway so added a little thyme, i used more butter, more paprika, an extra clove of garlic, a little green pepper to use it up, and a dash of white wine :) I also didn't have beef consomme, altho that's what i usually use, so i used chicken broth and cooked it in my wolfgang puck pressure cooker. the lemon zest adds great flavor.Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I thought it was very good. I don't like heavy beef gravy and this was perfect and the whole family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Wow! Never made this before, but it was delish! Had it with ww bread & butter because I could hardly wait to eat it. Loved the lemon. Had to sub cumin & coriander for caraway. I made mine sort of 1/2 stew - 1/2 soup. Oh, and lots more garlic. Will definitely make again! update: very flexible and nummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I use olive oil for the fat for browning my aromatics and meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boopster

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leland, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Thanks, Laulette. The "Goulash" turned out to be a flavorful soup. Although the traditional Hungarian Goulash recipe doesn't call for lemon, I really like the idea . By knowing that a hint of lemon doctores up all the flavors in a dish, it's only could be a good way to make "Gulyas". Yumm, I recommend this "gulyas" to everybody.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
How GOOD is this recipe?! We loved this. I maybe threw in a bit more caraway seeds and paprika than the recipe called for, but we both raved about this at dinner the other night. We will be having this again, on a regular basis. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyAnnA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Really good recipe, the whole family enjoyed and was too easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
The only one in my family that liked it was my 2yo. Since we've never had Goulash before, I don't know if it was the recipe or the fact that we just don't like goulash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natural & Good4U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
My family loved this. I also substituted olive oil and only used enough to cover the bottom of the dutch oven. My husband is on a low salt diet and I only added 1/8th tsp. salt. We're used to low salt so that's probably too little for most people. Having said that, it's hard for us to find recipes that taste good without much salt, but this was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States