Mom Sykes' Hungarian Goulash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
This was delicious. It was real easy to make. The only difference was I floured the meat and it was juicy and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Port Chester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Really good, the caraway seeds and lemon really make the difference in my opinion. I was out of sour cream and used 1/2 a pack of cream cheese. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder Creek, California, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
very similar to the way my mom used to make it, I Love it, and so does my family. I didn't have any caraway so added a little thyme, i used more butter, more paprika, an extra clove of garlic, a little green pepper to use it up, and a dash of white wine :) I also didn't have beef consomme, altho that's what i usually use, so i used chicken broth and cooked it in my wolfgang puck pressure cooker. the lemon zest adds great flavor.Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I thought it was very good. I don't like heavy beef gravy and this was perfect and the whole family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Wow! Never made this before, but it was delish! Had it with ww bread & butter because I could hardly wait to eat it. Loved the lemon. Had to sub cumin & coriander for caraway. I made mine sort of 1/2 stew - 1/2 soup. Oh, and lots more garlic. Will definitely make again! update: very flexible and nummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I use olive oil for the fat for browning my aromatics and meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boopster

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leland, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Thanks, Laulette. The "Goulash" turned out to be a flavorful soup. Although the traditional Hungarian Goulash recipe doesn't call for lemon, I really like the idea . By knowing that a hint of lemon doctores up all the flavors in a dish, it's only could be a good way to make "Gulyas". Yumm, I recommend this "gulyas" to everybody.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
How GOOD is this recipe?! We loved this. I maybe threw in a bit more caraway seeds and paprika than the recipe called for, but we both raved about this at dinner the other night. We will be having this again, on a regular basis. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyAnnA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Really good recipe, the whole family enjoyed and was too easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
The only one in my family that liked it was my 2yo. Since we've never had Goulash before, I don't know if it was the recipe or the fact that we just don't like goulash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natural & Good4U

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States