Mom Moak's Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
very good. I added 2 cans of Cream of chicken to make it thicker. an easy way to do shredded chicken that tastes better than boiling- chicken breasts in the crock pot with chicken broth on low all day- easy to shred. I used canned potatoes and carrots which sped it up a little. left out the milk. I may have to add some when reheating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
This is a keeper for us. Only things I did differently was to omit the onion (my husband is allergic) so I added 3 chopped cloves if garlic to the carrots and celery while they were cooking. Also, got a rotisserie chicken and shredded 2+ cups from that to add. I did add a little bit of salt at the end after adding in the evaporated milk. We had no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I made this with left over turkey and home made turkey broth. Was good! Then why the 3 stars? One thing I disliked and would not add again was the milk. Did not care for that part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I have a picky eater in the house so I was very cautious in choosing a simple, but flavorful, soup. I changed a few things around so here's what I did differently: 4 stalks celery, 6 carrots, 2-32oz boxes of broth (low sodium),no potatoes,instead of the spices listed I used 1tsp McCormick's Gourmet herbs de Provence, 4 cups chicken, and added about 1/4 cup chopped parsley,and 4 cloves fresh chopped garlic. I boiled chicken in broth and sauteed veggies in a deep sauce pan. I added a few cups of broth to veggies and let them simmer before adding to broth. I used 1 cup of the milk, but I think next time I will use a little more. I never used it so I used the bare minimum. I cooked my noodles by themselves and added them to the individual servings instead of dumping them in the soup. It had a good amount of flavor and we both enjoyed it, which is pretty rare in my house. This is my new go chicken soup recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Good. Omitted the milk. Added a little salt and pepper. Added chives and parsley also. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Made this tonight- omitted the potatoes and milk-add salt, pepper, rosemary, 2bay leaves, keep the thyme. It was good! I used organic chicken stock and a rotisserie chicken. I forgot to mention I added Italian parsley too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lela
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
This tasty soup reminds me of my Mother-in-Law's potato soup. My husband has fond memories of her potato soup. I have made this soup twice. The first time, I used my food processor and chopped up the carrots, onions and celery. The second time I made the soup I made the soup according to the recipe. Both ways made for a good soup. It needs some salt and perhaps some fresh chopped parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I was intrigued by the milk and the idea of a homemade creamy soup. I liked this recipe although I did modify it just a bit to suit our tastes. I had remnants of a rotisserie chicken, so I made my broth with that, and used what chicken was on it. Only used 1 potato b/c Honey doesn't eat them, but my teens do. I didn't have evaporated milk on hand, but I always have dry milk powder, so I added 1/2 C of that instead. Also, my pickies usually pick out carrots so cooked them in chunks making the broth and then buzzed them in the blender and then poured them back into the pan. Sneaky huh? I will probably make this again. Thanks for your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Good but a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States