Molly's Mouthwatering Tzatziki Cucumber Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
No Mayo needed for this to be the BEST tzatziki sauce I swear!!! plus who needs the extra calories. I added a bit of dill along w/ some lemon juice and a tiny bit of olive oil...maybe that was to make up for the mayo omission...either way worked GREAT! my bf cant wait for Gyros again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Upland, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
don't need the sour cream either. In Egypt we use yogurt, cucumbers, garlic, salt and that's it! totally healthy no need to use fat free anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by layla13

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
I grew up in Oceanside, Cali. where we would head to the boardwalk alot to get gyros. Moving to Ohio we have no greek deli close by. I've been searching for a long time to find a recipe for the cucumber sauce that is almost spot on to what I grew up on...I finally found it!...I recently grilled a beef brisket that I had rubbed in Greek seasoning to marinate all day. I had no idea what to do with leftovers and Gyros popped in my head. I finally found this recipe which I was sure might not be right. I read the other reviews and decided to try it...OMG!...I am in heaven!!...Only thing I did different was add a teaspoon of dried dill and that sealed the deal. I might not add the mayo next time and maybe add more sour cream in place of the mayo. Mayo didn't do much for me....I am so Happy to have found this recipe even if it's not the real thing. Sure tastes like it. I'm addicted now and I find myself adding it to everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pupgroomer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milan, Ohio, USA
Living In: Berlin Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Delicious and authentic tasting! As most others did, I too, omitted the mayo. I used low-fat Greek yogurt and light sour cream and you never would have known. The addition of dill is a necessity. I used a paper towel to strain the cucumber and then I squeezed some of the juice back into the mixture because the towel certainly soaks up a majority. Added a dash of garlic powder, onion powder, lemon juice and olive oil. It had a strong yogurt odor so I was afraid the taste would lack, but boy was I wrong! I do recommend refrigerating several hours prior to serving in order for the minced garlic to permeate the yogurt. FYI- it will appear curdled even though it is not. This is due to the cucumber being processed. For a more aesthetically pleasing sauce, shred the cucumber with a cheese grater. Fabulous find, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
This sauce is wonderful - I used a 2% greek yogurt, grated my cucumber by hand, strained it by wrapping the pulp in a simple paper towel squeezing a little. Used a little less garlic, but everything came out really well. It good with the falafel, and would make a great gyro sauce too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mxyou6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
My cuke was really big. I cut it in half and scooped out all the innards before chunking it up. I took another reviewer's suggestion and added a tablespoon of lemon juice and a good handful of a good quality feta cheese. This was okay--I think the mayo was out of place but it was still tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
This is an awesome recipe to start from. I omitted the mayo and added dill, lemon and cavender's greek seasoning. I also used fat free yogurt that I drained using a strainer and a coffee filter. It's a great way to pinch a few pennies and calories off of this great sauce. This is excellent paired up with pepperocini beef (on this site). I changed that recipe by piercing a london broil and sticking sliced garlic inside. I also rubbed with Cavender's and let it sit overnight before cooking. btw- the sauce is sooo much better when you allow it to sit overnight. So prepare the sauce when you rub the broil and start the crockpot first thing in the morning. It is worth every minute of prep. Speaking of prep... I couldn't find the lid of my food processor so I just chopped the cucumber as fine as possible. I think I like the texture more than when I used the FP.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Delicious and fresh-tasting! I've made this twice, and it's been a hit each time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This is very tastey! I made it with fat free yogurt, fat free sour cream, and fat free mayo and it still turned out delicious. I am planning on using it tonight on feta turkey burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I skipped the mayo, excluded salt and added dill, garlic powder and onion powder instead. This was soooo good, and very easy. I used it on chicken pitas. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Carreras

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States