Molly's Mouthwatering Tzatziki Cucumber Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I used all fat free ingredients and it came out great. Very mild.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SlowcookerSeduction

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Delicious and authentic tasting! As most others did, I too, omitted the mayo. I used low-fat Greek yogurt and light sour cream and you never would have known. The addition of dill is a necessity. I used a paper towel to strain the cucumber and then I squeezed some of the juice back into the mixture because the towel certainly soaks up a majority. Added a dash of garlic powder, onion powder, lemon juice and olive oil. It had a strong yogurt odor so I was afraid the taste would lack, but boy was I wrong! I do recommend refrigerating several hours prior to serving in order for the minced garlic to permeate the yogurt. FYI- it will appear curdled even though it is not. This is due to the cucumber being processed. For a more aesthetically pleasing sauce, shred the cucumber with a cheese grater. Fabulous find, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This recipe is AMAZING!!! I halved the recipe, leaving out the mayo and doubling the garlic - will great with greek food or just raw veggies. I will definately make it again and again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Great recipe, but I added an extra clove of garlic and omitted the mayo. As another reviewer says, you need a significant amount of salt. Next time, I may add some pulsed carrots too for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Love this recipe. It is quick and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shane McCallum

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salmon Arm, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I made this, not looking for a Tzatziki sauce, but something light and refreshing to pair with seasoned chicken breast on a wrap. I omitted both the mayo and the sour cream as they really rack in the calories. What I ended up with was a delicious, different sauce that I will continue to make for dipping veggies and chicken wraps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenmore, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I think this is the best tzatziki I've tasted. The Greek yogurt makes it very creamy and smooth. it seems curdled, but that is just the cucumber. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Governors Bay, Canterbury, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I made this recipe almost to the letter except I left out the mayo to save on the extra calories that I thought might not be necessary. It was FANTASTIC! So good! There are two keys to this recipe: First, getting step #1 right. You want to drain off the moisture without losing all the flavor, as it says. I used a handheld strainer and pressed the liquid into a bowl. Good thing I did because I did end up draining out too much flavor. I just poured a little of the juice back into my sauce to get that fresh cucumber flavor. The other key is to get your salt/pepper right. It will probably require a little more salt than you might think, so add a little until it tastes just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
No Mayo needed for this to be the BEST tzatziki sauce I swear!!! plus who needs the extra calories. I added a bit of dill along w/ some lemon juice and a tiny bit of olive oil...maybe that was to make up for the mayo omission...either way worked GREAT! my bf cant wait for Gyros again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Upland, California, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States