Molly's Mouthwatering Tzatziki Cucumber Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I think this is the best tzatziki I've tasted. The Greek yogurt makes it very creamy and smooth. it seems curdled, but that is just the cucumber. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Governors Bay, Canterbury, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I made this recipe almost to the letter except I left out the mayo to save on the extra calories that I thought might not be necessary. It was FANTASTIC! So good! There are two keys to this recipe: First, getting step #1 right. You want to drain off the moisture without losing all the flavor, as it says. I used a handheld strainer and pressed the liquid into a bowl. Good thing I did because I did end up draining out too much flavor. I just poured a little of the juice back into my sauce to get that fresh cucumber flavor. The other key is to get your salt/pepper right. It will probably require a little more salt than you might think, so add a little until it tastes just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
No Mayo needed for this to be the BEST tzatziki sauce I swear!!! plus who needs the extra calories. I added a bit of dill along w/ some lemon juice and a tiny bit of olive oil...maybe that was to make up for the mayo omission...either way worked GREAT! my bf cant wait for Gyros again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Upland, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Delicious and fresh-tasting! I've made this twice, and it's been a hit each time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Great! Added some fresh dill to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Made this as written and it was pretty good. I halved the recipe and used only one heaping teaspoon of mayo. It was good, but lacked the depth I was looking for, so I added the juice of 1/2 lemon and finely grated the peel - then added 1/4t. crushed seasoning called "Deliciously Dill" (dried mix of onion, dill, lemon peel, ginger, garlic, chives) and it was perfect. Thanks for the recipe! I was looking for something authentic and this is as close as I found. Not 100% on the mayo yet though, but we'll see after another night in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EKERR19

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
I grew up in Oceanside, Cali. where we would head to the boardwalk alot to get gyros. Moving to Ohio we have no greek deli close by. I've been searching for a long time to find a recipe for the cucumber sauce that is almost spot on to what I grew up on...I finally found it!...I recently grilled a beef brisket that I had rubbed in Greek seasoning to marinate all day. I had no idea what to do with leftovers and Gyros popped in my head. I finally found this recipe which I was sure might not be right. I read the other reviews and decided to try it...OMG!...I am in heaven!!...Only thing I did different was add a teaspoon of dried dill and that sealed the deal. I might not add the mayo next time and maybe add more sour cream in place of the mayo. Mayo didn't do much for me....I am so Happy to have found this recipe even if it's not the real thing. Sure tastes like it. I'm addicted now and I find myself adding it to everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pupgroomer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milan, Ohio, USA
Living In: Berlin Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This is very tastey! I made it with fat free yogurt, fat free sour cream, and fat free mayo and it still turned out delicious. I am planning on using it tonight on feta turkey burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States