Molly's Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
When I made this I used boneless breasts and doubled the sauce. As others mentioned a thin sauce, I dredged the chicken in flour before adding to the slow-cooker and then topped with the sauce ingredients. When the sauce is cooking, it smelled kind of weird, but when I served it over white rice, it tasted terrific! The sauce was just slightly thickened (in a good way). Note for next time -- no need to double the sauce, single batch makes plenty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Absolutely delicious and easy!! On Sunday afternoon I wanted to cook something in my crockpot for the week ahead, by the time I decided to try this chicken recipe it was 3:30 so I thought, I'll cook it and at least it will be ready by around 8:00 pm then I'll have something ready for tomorrow. well I skinned the chicken thighs and put them in the crockput then put a can of tomatoe soup in a bowl and mixed in the soya sauce less then 1/4 cup and used 1/4 cup of brown sugar chopped up two cloves and maybe about 3 tbsp of minced onion, and sliced thin about 4 small carrots, stirred it all together poured it over the chicken gave that a stir. and had the pot on high....checked it at 7:30 and the meat looked purfect!! cooked some rice, and wow! within 31/2 hours we were eating a wonderful tasty dinner, my sons loved it! I have a rather finicky 3 year old, and he loved this dinner! My 7 year old asked for 2nds!! I have a few pieces and lots of gravy left over for tomorrows meal, Thank you so much for sharing this recipe and for all the little additional ideas....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
I used bone-in chicken breasts and coated them in flour first. I also added baby carrots and onions to the slow cooker. And I think it was the best thing I have made in the slow cooker yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plantation, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
This was delicious! I made a few modifications: Used 3 chicken saddles (thigh and drumstick ) without skin, trimmed of fat, and dredged in flour. Added a can of tomato soup (didn't have another can of tomato sauce), about 1 Tbsp of ground ginger, and 1 Tbsp dried, minced garlic (out of fresh). Followed recipe on amount of soy sauce and brown sugar. Once the chicken was falling off the bone, which only took about 6 hours on low in my slow cooker, I removed the bones and used tongs to sort of shred the chicken. If trying to remove the chicken from the slow cooker to serve along side of rice and sauce, I suggest using a large slotted spoon. The chicken is so tender that it will fall apart via any other method. I served the chicken and sauce over white rice and sprinkled slivered almonds on top. My husband and 6-year-old LOVED it. Will definately make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Jeanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Maroa, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
Really good! Like so many reviewers of this and other recipes, I had my doubts about the tomato-soy sauce combo, but it was great. I used 3 frozen whole medium-sized boneless skinless chicken breasts (1½ lbs total), 3/8 cup soy sauce, 2 TBS veg broth, 1/4 cup plus 2 TBS brown sugar, 2 cloves of garlic, 1 can of sliced mushrooms, 1/4 of a largish onion (sliced), and the 8 ounces of tomato sauce. 8 hours on low later, it was dinner time. I shredded the chicken a bit in the slow cooker and served it with white rice and steamed carrots and broccoli. It was sweet enough that our four-year-old enjoyed it, and my husband inhaled the stuff! Very good, thanks for sharing, CookieLuvr!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
My hubby enjoyed this dish and had seconds. This may have had something to do with my one modification to the recipe - I added a good splash of wiskey to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillith32

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kiev, Kiev (Special City), Ukraine
Living In: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2005
Has to be one of the easiest recipes for drumsticks that I've used yet. The teriyaki-type sauce (a mixture of flavours that we didn't find strange at all) was a huge hit with the family and the meat was so moist it was falling off the bones. Delicious and simple! What more could a busy mom ask for..... I did brown my chicken first, don't know if that was necessary or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
This was such an easy and yummy recipe, that's why I'm giving it 5 stars. My picky 3-year old loved the chicken and my health conscience husband like that it was flavorful and light. We served it with white rice and with a salad. The sauce was perfect for pouring over the rice. This will definitely become a favorite for this busy mom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
This chicken was very good served over rice. I doubled the sauce ingredients and added quite a bit of brown sugar to get the sweeter taste. Be sure to take the skin off, the chicken ends up falling off the bone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This chicken was easy to make and wasn't terrible, however I don't think it is a 4 star dish so I felt I had to drop it down a little. It was a bit salty and the sauce was a bit thin, even though I dredged the drumsticks in flour. I wonder if adding a little ketchup to the sauce would make it more flavorful without being just salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States