Molly's Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Loved how easy this was to make but my husband didn't care for the sauce so I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
I tried this recipe as directed and it was good. The meat fell off the bone and was very tender. Quite delicious. This recipe kind of reminded me of my grandmothers sweet and sour chicken so I decided to make it again and make a few of my own modifications. I used a little less soy sauce, a 15 oz can of tomato sauce, brown sugar, some Catalina dressing (my grandmother used it in her recipe a secret ingredient) a can of pineapple chunks with the juice, a little bit of fresh ginger I shredded with my cheese grater, and about a 1/4 of an onion, and let me tell ya, it was AMAZING!!!! The original recipe is good, for a semi sweet crockpot meal, I decided to tweak a few things. Goes great with rice and broccoli. My main advice try the original recipe first, then make your own modifications!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by superstar254
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Great recipe. However, it only needs 6 hours to cook not 8. Goes great with Asian rice and vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
So delicious! I used extra sauce and poured it on white rice and steamed veggies and it was phenomenal! This will definitely become part of my regular meals
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Very easy to make, the family seems to like it a lot. I used a slotted spoon to take out the legs (yes the meat was falling off the bone) I used 1/2 cup sugar because I was doubling the recipe and it wasn't enough... Maybe just a bit more but no one would think of that but me. I'll make it again. Thanks cookieluvr1!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
This chicken was reallyyyy salty!!! I needed a warning on that part.. Needs less soy sauce for sure..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Just a few ingredients and WOW! I did not have tomato sauce so I pureed a can of tomatoes and used that. I will be keeping this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
I'd like to say that I kind of messed up. I purposefully cut up a vidalia onion and a bunch of carrots to put under the chicken. It was hot today and I didn't want to deal with the stove or grill. I placed the chicken (2 pounds of skinless thighs) on top of the veggies and decided to double the sauce to serve over egg noodles. By mistake I opened a can of diced Italian tomatoes instead of the sauce. I put those in the sauce and then also put an 8 oz can of tomatoe sauce, too. I thought it was very good, particularly for the ease of the recipe. Picky son ate it up. Te chicken was very tasty and tender! I think next time I will add some cornstarch to thicken the sauce and I will cut back a bit on the soy sauce. I think this would be equally good with stew beef or pork. Thanks, Molly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ColleenK
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
This was so surprisingly yummy and simple. I didn't want to fry the drumsticks I purchased so I stumbled on this. I used a quarter cup soy sauce, and I was generous with the brown sugar. I used tomato soup because it was what I had on hand. Wonderful recipe, Molly is onto something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColleenK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
The was delicious!! I used more brown sugar and less soy sauce than was called for (due to the reviews that said it was too salty and I tend to be sensitive), but I did add a little salt in while it was warming. I also added chopped onions and shredded carrots and served over white rice. Will definitely make this again! I will probably add more veggies next time to amp up the nutrition... I think celery would be perfect in this. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States