Molasses Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I thought the recipe was great! I used half butter and half crisco. As a professional cook, I make cookies every day. Parchment paper or silicon (sil-pats) are a must for any baker. Also invest in some small scoops to insure uniform size. I didn't chill the batter it wasn't too sticky and dipped the tops in sugar after scooping. I did press them down a bit with my fingers after the test batch were a little small. Baked for 10 minutes and they were nice and soft. Cooling on a wire rack is needed as they are a soft cookie. I will use this recipe again. Always make a test cookie and adjust (flour/temp/size) if you aren't getting the results you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Wonderful and easy. I did not melt the crisco and used half crisco and half butter. I did refrigerate the dough for about 30 minutes. Baked for 8 minutes and they came out perfect. Will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
These cookies are so good! I followed recipe exactly and baked for 8 minutes. Cookies are soft and chewy and tasty. Will add these to my holiday cookie list for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I have made these cookies for years. My mother gave me a brochure from a Gold Medal flour sack dated 1939 that has the recipe on it. Some think it is a new creation but it sure isn't! At our house they disappear in short order.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther Kenagy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worthington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
These are awesome! Beautiful, chewy, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by northwestgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
These are really good and actually make quite a few cookies. I store in the refrigerator and they were still fresh and chewy a week later
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Just like mom made! This is the same recipe that has been handed down in my family for years. These are delicious, are great for taking to outdoor events as they don't melt and they freeze perfectly. Love to have some in the freezer to whip out for unexpected guests - everyone always loves these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Holt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Center Township, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kit-e-kat
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Delicious! I made these without chilling the dough. Came out perfectly! I used one cup coconut oil and 1/2 cup organic butter and with all other organic ingredients. Cook exactly eight minutes at 370 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grosse Ile, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Awesome recipe..Delicious and really great..We liked it;-) try it too..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
I can't believe I forgot to rate these cookies. These are absolutely delicious! I didn't have any shortening, so I substituted butter. The molasses makes them divine, and the spice amounts are just right. Go by the bake time as to not overcook them, no matter how they look. They are perfectly crunchy on the outside and chewy in the middle, and they stored fine for me. I love spice cookies, and this is definitely my go to spice cookie recipe now! Thank you so much for this awesome recipe! btw... For people who had flat cookies, invest in a cookie scoop. Not sure if what caused the cookies to be flat, but a cookie scoop makes a perfect cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 610) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States