Molasses Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
These cookies are a big hit in my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I don't usually give 5 stars, but these cookies deserve all of those stars! I followed the recipe, only changing the sugars. I used 1 cup each brown and white sugar, instead of all white sugar. They were full of flavor, and the spicing was wonderful!!! Once baked, they were soft, but held their shape in the cookie jar. DH took them to an office party, and a few people said they were the best cookies they've had in a long time :-) Definately going to make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Yummy!! Perfect exactly as is, left them in the oven 8 minutes, they were still soft, but I transferred them directly to a cooling rack and they turned out crispy on the outside and soft on the inside, and just sooooo yummy!! Great recipe, definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I really liked the taste of these, however mine were not soft :( They didn't burn or get over brown in anyway, but I wonder if I should have taken them out a minute or two sooner...I do plan on trying again though because the taste was great! I also didn't have cloves on hand so I used allspice instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muggle516

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Beaver Dam, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
These cookies are awesome! The perfect mix of chewy and crispy and just the right amount of spice. I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening, 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 white sugar, and subbed allspice for the cloves since I am not a huge clove fan. I skipped melting the shortening and just creamed it with the butter and sugar and they came out fine. No need for the extra step. THe dough also freezes beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama411

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Absolutely delicious! I used butter flavored crisco and I also had no molasses so I subbed honey instead. I don't know what they taste like with molasses but I'm not a huge fan of molasses or honey for that matter.. but these were outstanding. The spices are dead on and the texture is awesome. I'm going to use these for this year's cookie exchange and deliver them to some people for gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTINE5014

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I make these cookies every year for Christmas along with iced, cut-out cookies that take a long time to decorate. EVERYONE still asks for the molasses cookies. I use the recipe from my Mother who has since passed. It is the same except I use 1 1/2 cups of melted butter instead of Crisco. It takes a little time to incorporate it into the sugar and molasses so just keep stirring. To make a deeper, richer flavor, I use 2 1/2 tsp. cinnamon and 1/2 tsp. cardamon instead of just cinnamon. I bake these cookies early in December and freeze them, wrapping a dozen in Reynolds Wrap then into a gallon size freezer bag. It is amazing how wonderful they keep. If I am lucky to have any left for my husband, he just takes a package out of the freezer, lets them sit on the counter a few minutes and eats them. They taste like you just made them. Suzanne from Tulsa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Those are the best cookies! So addictive! I made them exactly as written, and rolled them in coloured surgar. Definitely on my favourite cookie list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anahid

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
8 minutes was perfect for baking. Clove was still very strong even though I halved it based on another reviewer's comments. Easy to make, but I thought average taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
AMAZING! I did sub melted coconut oil for the shortening and nutmeg for the clove and ginger but hands down this is a winning recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 571) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States