Molasses Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
I give this 4 stars because I had to do some modifications. Instead of melting shortening and letting it cool, I used butter and creamed it with the sugar like most cookies. I then proceed to add the eggs and molasses and blend in the dry ingredients. When done like that they have a great taste and don't take any longer than any other cookie. One of my favorite cookies. Love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Crosthwaite
Living In: Lebanon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
These are amazing! I made them last year for a holiday party and everyone loved them. I added a drizzle of melted semi sweet chocolate over the top to dress them up a little bit. They were Great and the Bread trick works like a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Very good cookie, spices mild and just right. Agree with the baker who said to NOT substitute butter for the Crisco. Unless of course you want a flatter cookie. I do not feel it improves the flavor to use butter, and it changes the consistency quite a bit. I've done both ways and prefer the Crisco. Have no idea why you would melt and then let resolidify.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
really love how chewy they are in the middle and crisp on the out side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
These are the Best! My husband always requests these around the Holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reandeau

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by winnyb
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
The best molasses cookie I have ever had or made so easy one of them OMG cookies !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pownal, Maine, USA
Living In: Monmouth, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I used butter instead of shortening. Amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
These were, like most said 5 stars!! My son made them today just as the recipe said and were too good! I'm afraid we can't make these too often. I will eat too many of them. ;-) These would be amazing around Fall with colored sugar as one other reader suggested! Clearly, now one of our absolute favorites. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
These are awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindi D

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I have never been great at making cookies, mine always get hard. Then I read a review that said if this happens you are over cooking them. I followed the time on these for 8 minutes(which was very hard because they look so underdone when you pull them out) and they were some of the best cookies I've ever made. They stayed soft and were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 620) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States