Molasses Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I really liked the taste of these, however mine were not soft :( They didn't burn or get over brown in anyway, but I wonder if I should have taken them out a minute or two sooner...I do plan on trying again though because the taste was great! I also didn't have cloves on hand so I used allspice instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muggle516

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Beaver Dam, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
These cookies are awesome! The perfect mix of chewy and crispy and just the right amount of spice. I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening, 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 white sugar, and subbed allspice for the cloves since I am not a huge clove fan. I skipped melting the shortening and just creamed it with the butter and sugar and they came out fine. No need for the extra step. THe dough also freezes beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama411

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Absolutely delicious! I used butter flavored crisco and I also had no molasses so I subbed honey instead. I don't know what they taste like with molasses but I'm not a huge fan of molasses or honey for that matter.. but these were outstanding. The spices are dead on and the texture is awesome. I'm going to use these for this year's cookie exchange and deliver them to some people for gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTINE5014

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I make these cookies every year for Christmas along with iced, cut-out cookies that take a long time to decorate. EVERYONE still asks for the molasses cookies. I use the recipe from my Mother who has since passed. It is the same except I use 1 1/2 cups of melted butter instead of Crisco. It takes a little time to incorporate it into the sugar and molasses so just keep stirring. To make a deeper, richer flavor, I use 2 1/2 tsp. cinnamon and 1/2 tsp. cardamon instead of just cinnamon. I bake these cookies early in December and freeze them, wrapping a dozen in Reynolds Wrap then into a gallon size freezer bag. It is amazing how wonderful they keep. If I am lucky to have any left for my husband, he just takes a package out of the freezer, lets them sit on the counter a few minutes and eats them. They taste like you just made them. Suzanne from Tulsa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Those are the best cookies! So addictive! I made them exactly as written, and rolled them in coloured surgar. Definitely on my favourite cookie list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anahid

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
8 minutes was perfect for baking. Clove was still very strong even though I halved it based on another reviewer's comments. Easy to make, but I thought average taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
AMAZING! I did sub melted coconut oil for the shortening and nutmeg for the clove and ginger but hands down this is a winning recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tash
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
This is the same as another molasses sugar cookie recipe on here, this one is just doubled and recommends chilling. I tried some chilled and some not, and there does not seem to be a difference. I also tried some rolled in sugar and some not and they are both good. The sugared ones are prettier and make more of a mess and take more time. This version of the recipe makes close to 9 dozen for me. UPDATE: I entered these in the local fair with the only change being I didn't use the spices and I added vanilla extract, I got 3rd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tash

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Great recipe - I did use butter instead of shortening. No opportunity to see if they would last for an extended period of time since they were all consumed within a couple of days. I did add a twist or a Kiss by adding a Pumpkin Spice flavored Hershey Kiss to the top of each cookie. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
I have never rated a recipe before but these cookies were absolutely phenomenal. I don't use shortening for anything so I substituted coconut oil (also needed them to be dairy free so I couldn't use butter) and they turned out so so so good. The molasses and spice in the cookie are strong enough flavors that you couldn't taste even a hint of coconut from the oil. I was a little confused as to whether I was supposed to flatten the balls of dough at all or not but ended up liking the result much better when I didn't. I baked them for 8 minutes as many other reviewers did and stored them in a ziploc bag and found them to still be soft and moist 3-4 days later. (Which is all the longer they lasted in my house) I will be bringing these cookies to all of my holiday gatherings this year. As a matter of fact, I won't be allowing myself to make them unless they are for a holiday gathering because otherwise I'm sure I will eat the entire batch! Again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 578) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States