Molasses Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Great recipe - I did use butter instead of shortening. No opportunity to see if they would last for an extended period of time since they were all consumed within a couple of days. I did add a twist or a Kiss by adding a Pumpkin Spice flavored Hershey Kiss to the top of each cookie. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
I have never rated a recipe before but these cookies were absolutely phenomenal. I don't use shortening for anything so I substituted coconut oil (also needed them to be dairy free so I couldn't use butter) and they turned out so so so good. The molasses and spice in the cookie are strong enough flavors that you couldn't taste even a hint of coconut from the oil. I was a little confused as to whether I was supposed to flatten the balls of dough at all or not but ended up liking the result much better when I didn't. I baked them for 8 minutes as many other reviewers did and stored them in a ziploc bag and found them to still be soft and moist 3-4 days later. (Which is all the longer they lasted in my house) I will be bringing these cookies to all of my holiday gatherings this year. As a matter of fact, I won't be allowing myself to make them unless they are for a holiday gathering because otherwise I'm sure I will eat the entire batch! Again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
First, my husband and two children liked these. I love molasses and felt it needed more molasses. But, I also followed other reader suggestions and added 1 cup white sugar and 1 cup brown. I wanted these larger than the palm of my hand so baked them for 16 mins at 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shayna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mill Creek, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I really like these cookies. They are chewy and look really fun with colored sugar. I made them with butter flavored crisco (all I had) and enjoyed the slightly buttery flavor. I also used half sugar/brown sugar. Will put it in my box of Christmas goody recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Very good! My first pan of cookies were a little too small (was trying to get LOTS) and I baked them a little too long so they came out crisp. The next pan I made them larger and took a minute off the baking time and they were excellent. Out of personal preference I will probably add a little more ginger next time. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
These were ok, pretty strongly flavored but that's not the recipe's fault. I used margarine as the recipe stated and they really flattened and spread out. Still chewy but pretty disappointed with them. Of course, I took them to work, and they were all gone in 10 minutes, although I believe they would eat shoe leather if they thought it was home made! Anyway, probably won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
A HUGE hit at the party. Perfect texture, flavor, and crackled surface. People were actually mad at me for bringing them, because they couldn't stop eating them. Straight from heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Delicious. I used coconut oil instead of shortening to make them a little healthier, but did the rest as directed. Definitely making again for the holidays! Maybe with some nuts and or chocolate to add another flavor/texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
these rock ... I could swear I ate the whole batch myself ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Very yummy!! Would definitely make these again! Note: To keep them soft and moist for more than a day, seal in an air-tight container with one of those clay brown sugar fresheners tucked inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 620) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States