Molasses Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Absolutely love this recipe. I use butter instead of shortening. Make sure to chill well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Holy Cow! These are fantastic! I made a half batch, which made about 50 cookies. Definitely stick to the 8 minute mark like others have said. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
These are the best cookies ! Because I had to use what I had on hand, I adjusted the recipe alittle. I used 1/2 cup of butter and 1 cup crisco shortening and used 1 cup white sugar and 1 cup light brown sugar...they turned out so good ! I wrote down my alterations and will make them like this all the time. My husband LOVES them !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyending

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fostoria, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
These cookies are the best. My daughter made them for school and all of the teachers loved them! I accidentally left the salt out of one of my batches and it didn't make a big difference. I love these cookies and will make them often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
i had some difficulty with the dough, i refrigirated in air tight container over night as suggested and the dough was very very dry couldnt even form balls so i ended up adding 1 third cup softened margarine to it, i suggest chilling for about an hour only. still couldnt roll it, defently not a recipe to use cookie cutters. despite the dificulties, the finished product tastes amasing definitly 5 stars despit the difficulties
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
These cookies were so easy to make and it helps that I already have each ingredient right in my pantry! I question the need to melt the shortening too but did it anyway (as it may probably help in incorporating the other ingredients). I found an easy way to melt the shortening -- if you're using a Kitchenaid mixer, just put the shortening inside the KA bowl and put it over a pot of simmering water and after it melts, remove from pot and let it sit for a few minutes as indicated in the recipe. Then I just dunk the ingredients straight into the bowl and attach it to my KA and start mixing! It's so incredibly easy doing it this way and lessens the washing afterwards. I placed the dough in the fridge double wrapped the bowl in plastic and let it sit there overnight (purely coincidental as I did this at night) then in the morning pre-heated the oven and started rolling. I flattened the balls a little bit and dipped it in my homemade colored sugars. A trick I found useful was to place around a teaspoonful of sugar on top of the cookie after placing it in the cookie sheet than press it gently with the palm of your hand. The sugar really adhered to the cookie and even had a nice crackled look to it. Pressing will help give the cookie a nice round shape too. Will definitely be making these again but will probably not refrigerate it anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
These cookies are so delicious!! Does anyone know why you melt the shortening?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I thought these were great and have added them to my yearly Christmas cookie favorites. I didn't change any of the ingredients. I did put the batter in the refrigerator to harden a little before rolling them in the sugar. They turned out beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
These are AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Awesome! Soft & chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTWhite

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Vermont, USA
Living In: White River Junction, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 574) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States