Molasses Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
These cookies are PERFECT AS IS!! The dough tastes kind of strong, but once they are cooked, they are perfect. Crispy on the edges, chewy in the middle. Cuter with green sugar on outside. Nice contrast between brown cookie and green. Red blended in. I think melting the shortening changes the consistances or something. Once it was melted and then cooled, it was a glossy, transparent color. I DID NOT freeze it before baking. Try baking a test cookie first. As for the time...it's REALLY hard not to overbake. I found that 8 1/2 minutes was about right for my oven. And these taste fantastic with milk! Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Culver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sherry R
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Absolutely amazing!!!!! Thank you for a great recipe! I made the batter last night, chilled, and baked tonight. They are sooooo good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry R

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridgefield Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
They're all gone! They were just too good. These are the best molasses spice cookies I've ever made. I used butter instead of Crisco, and I always add a bit more ginger and a bit more cinnamon than called for, but the recipe was simple, and they came out amazing. I just used plain white sugar and not the colored as shown in the pic (which doesn't look at all appealing IMHO).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
These cookies are a big hit in my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I don't usually give 5 stars, but these cookies deserve all of those stars! I followed the recipe, only changing the sugars. I used 1 cup each brown and white sugar, instead of all white sugar. They were full of flavor, and the spicing was wonderful!!! Once baked, they were soft, but held their shape in the cookie jar. DH took them to an office party, and a few people said they were the best cookies they've had in a long time :-) Definately going to make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Yummy!! Perfect exactly as is, left them in the oven 8 minutes, they were still soft, but I transferred them directly to a cooling rack and they turned out crispy on the outside and soft on the inside, and just sooooo yummy!! Great recipe, definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinag19

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I really liked the taste of these, however mine were not soft :( They didn't burn or get over brown in anyway, but I wonder if I should have taken them out a minute or two sooner...I do plan on trying again though because the taste was great! I also didn't have cloves on hand so I used allspice instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muggle516

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Beaver Dam, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
These cookies are awesome! The perfect mix of chewy and crispy and just the right amount of spice. I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening, 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 white sugar, and subbed allspice for the cloves since I am not a huge clove fan. I skipped melting the shortening and just creamed it with the butter and sugar and they came out fine. No need for the extra step. THe dough also freezes beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama411

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Absolutely delicious! I used butter flavored crisco and I also had no molasses so I subbed honey instead. I don't know what they taste like with molasses but I'm not a huge fan of molasses or honey for that matter.. but these were outstanding. The spices are dead on and the texture is awesome. I'm going to use these for this year's cookie exchange and deliver them to some people for gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Giles Hester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I make these cookies every year for Christmas along with iced, cut-out cookies that take a long time to decorate. EVERYONE still asks for the molasses cookies. I use the recipe from my Mother who has since passed. It is the same except I use 1 1/2 cups of melted butter instead of Crisco. It takes a little time to incorporate it into the sugar and molasses so just keep stirring. To make a deeper, richer flavor, I use 2 1/2 tsp. cinnamon and 1/2 tsp. cardamon instead of just cinnamon. I bake these cookies early in December and freeze them, wrapping a dozen in Reynolds Wrap then into a gallon size freezer bag. It is amazing how wonderful they keep. If I am lucky to have any left for my husband, he just takes a package out of the freezer, lets them sit on the counter a few minutes and eats them. They taste like you just made them. Suzanne from Tulsa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 584) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States