Molasses Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
The taste is good, but the cookies looked nothing like the pictures. No cracks, not puffy...just flat. I under baked them (8 min.) to avoid a hard cookie, so they were soft. I followed the directions completely so I don't know what went wrong? I doubt if I will try this one again...I'll try another recipe instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Love these cookies! I followed the recipe almost exactly. I did not melt the shortening. I used it as is. A nice soft cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I have made these twice now. Absolutely love them!!!! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Michigan Center, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I am fairly new to baking. In the recipe it calls for white sugar. Is this granulated sugar or confectioners sugar. I am confused becasue I see it says to roll the doughballs in granulated sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by beckymartin27
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
These cookies turned out amazing! It was my first time making molasses cookies and I have a tendency to over bake but followed the recipe and bake time and they turned out great! Thanks for the delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Mmmmm. Really good. Very simple to make too.These cookies turned out moist and Chewy with a nice light sugar crisp on the outside . I also used colored sugar. Makes a good sized batch of a few dozen so no need to double unless u need a ton. Recommend for sure:) Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rosesong
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I used 1 and 1/2 cups melted butter instead of shortening and added 1/2 teaspoon of Cream of Tartar to get a more crackled look. Topped off with red, green, yellow and shimmer cupcake sugar. Family loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosesong

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Delish! They look, smell and taste amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Huntley, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
My husband wanted a classic molasses cookie for Christmas and this was IT!! Very good, made it with butter as I do not care for shortening taste, turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Ruesch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I made this according to some of the suggestions in the reviews. I substituted 1/2c butter for some of the shortening and used ground allspice for the cloves (all I had). I also didn't melt and cool the shortening, just creamed together with the sugar. These were good cookies, and mine weren't too flat and stayed chewy. We wanted a spiced molasses cookie, and that is definitely what this is. If you don't want to taste molasses or the spice, these aren't for you. While these were all eaten, if I make these again I'll definitely sub butter for all the shortening (just dietary preference), but before that I'll try different spiced cookie recipes. I felt these were missing something. Good but not great...tasted store bought (probably all the shortening).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 576) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States