Molasses Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
I'm not the biggest fan of molasses cookies, but my roommates devoured the first batch I made. Making a second batch tonight :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Excellent !! Easy and quick,,, and just perfect. Definite keeper. I just sub 1/2 c butter and 1 c shortening, and 1 c white sugar and 1 c brown sugar. Just blended as is,,, did not melt shortening,, everything worked out great. Thought it was a lil bit dry, but I worked it outside of the bowl and they were just right. Did not cool dough, just worked from there and then in the oven they went. Kept the spices as they are, and these are just perfect again. I baked for 8 min was just right for me, bit crunchy on the outside and soft inside. I tried a few at 10 mins was too much unless u like them really crunchy. Thanx so much for this wonderful recipe !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Flin Flon, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I'm more of a chocolate chip kind of girl but this is one amazing cookie. My husband says it's the best molasses cookie he's ever had and it's now his favorite. The only thing I did different was use room temp butter instead of shortening because it's what I had on hand and did half white sugar and half dark brown because I ran out of white. Soft and chewy spiced perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Amazing. I didn't even wait the three hours to make them. Also, I replaced the shortening with equal parts butter. My oven bake time was 13 minutes and they came perfectly soft baked. This is a recipe I will definitely use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
A nice rich slightly chewy cookie similar to a soft version of a ginger snap. I found chilling the dough slightly just prior baking helps in the handling. This is a family favorite and they disappear quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Kiln, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ????? ???-?????
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Delicious !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ????? ???-?????

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
great cookies, wow love these at time but now I can make them, bring on more.....just need to make them more golden and have them rise more, not sure why they are more flat and darker, still amazing though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
I'm looking for spice cookie with nuts & cranberries. could i add them to this?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
The very best! I occasionally bake cookies but not often...made up a half batch of dough before dinner last night and put it in to chill. Up early and decided to bake before leaving the house. Anyone who stopped in said it smelled heavenly. Should have made a full batch! Have to admit I did use half light brown and half regular sugar, but only because I had quite a bit of light brown on hand. Now that we've made them once we'll stick with it. Can't thank you enough! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
This is a wonderful recipe which I have made for over 50 years. First found it on the Brear Molasses bottle. My mom made them when I was a little girl also. Very tried and true.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Adrian, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 620) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States