Molasses Sugar Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
These are a no-fail cookie that tastes great! I cut the recipe in half just because I didn't want too many cookies. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by contrachapado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I have made several recipes off this site, but never take time to rate them. This recipe turned out so awesome I just had to. I've been searching for a recipe as close to my husbands grandmothers as possible. He loved this one. I'll never make any other molasses cookie recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judi'sMom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I am so glad I tried this recipe! Moist and chewy, with the perfect amount of spice. The dough was so tasty; a large portion of it never got to see the inside of my oven. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mallorytown, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
Really good!! I like that you can have your choice of a chewy or crunchy cookie depending on the cooking time. I have family members that like both so I do half and half when baking. Beware that this is a real stiff dough so either use dough hooks for the final mixing or do it by hand. My mixed burned out with it! lol I wanted a new one anyway. Family and friends all raved and will become part of the Christmas cookie tray year to year here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DSRTBLND43

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
these are sooo yummy. the are very much like another recipe i had that i LOVED and now i can't find it. easy to make. nice and chewy. i put them immediately in an airtight container after they cooled so they would stay soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
I used this recipe for a cookie exchange and it was fantastic!!!!! I will definitely add this one to my list of Christmas cookies to bake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
My husband asked for "soft ginger cookies" like his mom used to make for Christmas. While she was looking in her files, I found a ginger cookie recipe from this site that was very good: chewy, but very flat, and not exactly like the cookies my husband wanted. I finally got the recipe and made it...and now I find the recipe posted here! It is fabulous. The dough is very stiff, but it is very managable if using a stand mixer. The only difference was that my recipe didn't indicate that the dough should be chilled so I bake them right away. The dough was not at all sticky as I had feared, but rolled very easily into balls. I baked for 9 minutes, and they came out perfect with chewy centers, crispy edges, and a beautiful crackled top. They were very lofty just coming out of the oven, but did fall some as they cooled...but they still weren't as flat as the other recipe I tried. I used butter flavored shortening and have eaten entirely too many of them already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmichaels, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
Used to make these for the Xmas goodies but now they are a staple at our house. I don't bother letting cool and they turn out nice and soft. Other then that I stay true to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommyFromSeattle
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
Excellent, crunchy on the outside, soft and chewy on the inside. Perfect spicyness. Not a fan of using that much shortening, so I used 1 cup shortening, 1 stick of butter and it turned out sooo good. Once the shortening/egg mixture cools, it does get pretty stiff, so using an electric mixer with a dough hook is ideal or else you'll get a nice work out. I chilled my dough for only 2 hours and it was plenty. This dough crinkles beautifully and this recipe makes a lot of cookies. I used walnut sized dough balls and yielded a little over 3 dozen. I tested my oven with a thermometer to check the temperature accuracy, and it was. 375 degrees at exactly 9 minutes made soft, chewy cookies. Will be my master recipe from now on. Rivals the bakery ones - and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Fabulous!!! I made a couple of changes. I only had butter so made them with butter versus shortening. I also made a mistake and didn't allow the melted butter to cool. This made for VERY soft dough, so I had to add about 1/2 cup of flour. We rolled them in red and green sugar for Christmas. I big hit in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb Forrence Worth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States