Molasses Sugar Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
My husband asked for "soft ginger cookies" like his mom used to make for Christmas. While she was looking in her files, I found a ginger cookie recipe from this site that was very good: chewy, but very flat, and not exactly like the cookies my husband wanted. I finally got the recipe and made it...and now I find the recipe posted here! It is fabulous. The dough is very stiff, but it is very managable if using a stand mixer. The only difference was that my recipe didn't indicate that the dough should be chilled so I bake them right away. The dough was not at all sticky as I had feared, but rolled very easily into balls. I baked for 9 minutes, and they came out perfect with chewy centers, crispy edges, and a beautiful crackled top. They were very lofty just coming out of the oven, but did fall some as they cooled...but they still weren't as flat as the other recipe I tried. I used butter flavored shortening and have eaten entirely too many of them already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmichaels, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I have made several recipes off this site, but never take time to rate them. This recipe turned out so awesome I just had to. I've been searching for a recipe as close to my husbands grandmothers as possible. He loved this one. I'll never make any other molasses cookie recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judi'sMom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
Really good!! I like that you can have your choice of a chewy or crunchy cookie depending on the cooking time. I have family members that like both so I do half and half when baking. Beware that this is a real stiff dough so either use dough hooks for the final mixing or do it by hand. My mixed burned out with it! lol I wanted a new one anyway. Family and friends all raved and will become part of the Christmas cookie tray year to year here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DSRTBLND43

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
I used this recipe for a cookie exchange and it was fantastic!!!!! I will definitely add this one to my list of Christmas cookies to bake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
These are a no-fail cookie that tastes great! I cut the recipe in half just because I didn't want too many cookies. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by contrachapado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2005
Very lovely cookie with spicy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATE571

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Walton, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
These cookies have a lot of flavour. The only thing I did't care much about this cookie is that it turned out really flat after it baked. I prefer a thicker cookie. Other than that it was very tasty. My son loved them as well as my hubby. If I can't find another recipe that makes a thicker cookie I will continue to make this cookie, it tasted that good and I think I can get past the flatness of it. LOL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUBYSCOOBY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
I love molasses sugar cookies and these are by far the best I have ever baked!! The Amish in our town make a mean molasses cookie but this recipe even goes beyone theirs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
I've used this recipe for years. The only thing I do different is that I sprinkle the tops of the balls with water right before baking and bake for a chewy texture, 8 - 10 minutes. This creates a crinkled cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
These cookies are very moist and chewy. 5 stars for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hay River, Northwest Territories, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States