Molasses Sugar Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I added extra molasses and it made it extra yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Excellent. Since I am not a big fan of shortening, I used 3/4 cup butter and 3/4 cup shortening. Left everything else the same. I baked mine for 10 minutes and they turned out crispy on the outside and soft inside...just the way we like them. After the first batch, I put a couple drops of water on top of each before baking to get a more crinkled look. Definitely will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garfield, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Absolutely delicious, my husband loves soft molasses cookies so I always added milk but that makes them more like cake. He liked these and so far they are still soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
These cookies are so good they make my mouth tingle! They are so yummy with coffee or even a bit of vanilla ice cream. They are so rich and gooey on the inside, sweet and slightly crisp on the outside. My only suggestion to anyone who hasn't tried this is that if your dough feels firm before you put it in the fridge, don't put it in the fridge for long. I left mine in over night and it took an eternity to roll into balls! However, it was well worth it as these cookies are excellent. Easy to make, yet when someone tries it, they will think you are a baking master! Thanks so much for the fantastic cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shneeky shnake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I reduced the spices significantly since I wanted molasses cookies, not spce cookies. They came out quite flat, very flat. 'Not used to flat cookies. :) Keeping in mind I halved the recipe, these are my measurements: 1/4c each butter, margarine, shortening; 1c brown sugar; 1/4c molasses; 1 egg; 2c flour; 1/2 + 1/8t cinnamon; 1/4t ginger; 1/8t cloves. Also added 1t vanilla. Only problem I had was their flatness. 'Kinda messed with my mind - expecting flat cookies to be crisp instead of chewy. Good tasting, but didn't wow me. Too, they spread a good bit even after refrigerating so two & a half inches is probably a good distance between 'em. Made 4 dozen, about an inch round of dough each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Did not put molasses in and it was still amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
These were excellent. I followed the recipe to a "T" and they turned out amazing. Perfect Christmas cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA
Living In: Lake City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Melt shortening and then cool? This is why some of you had a problem with it. ALWAYS have ALL ingredients at room temperature, including eggs and liquids!! Cream shortening or butter with sugars until smooth and creamy. Then add eggs and mix well again, then other liquids and mix well. Mix all dry ingredients in a separate bowl and then add 1/3 or less at a time to the wet ingredients and that's how great cookies are made, as well as all muffins and quick breads too! The old cookbooks used to explain this, but, alas, that info isn't included anymore and new bakers don't have this info. My daughter just made this same mistake because the recipe she used didn't give step by step info like they used to! No matter what the recipe says, this is always (in my experience) the way to perfect baking! I hope this helps!! Great recipe otherwise!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rumney, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I doubled the recipe (not knowing it made 6 dozen to start out with) and they came out amazing. I also made many of them a smaller size as well so people wouldn't feel bad about eating so many as they are delicious! I live and work on a farm, and everyone that I live and work with had eaten them all by the end of the day.. Thank you for the wonderful recipe- I will definitely be making these for the holidays and share this recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tulapearl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Excellent recipe. I've used this recipe for two years now around the holidays and it always turns out perfect. The cookies stay chewy and yummy for weeks. A crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States