Molasses Sugar Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I am so glad I tried this recipe! Moist and chewy, with the perfect amount of spice. The dough was so tasty; a large portion of it never got to see the inside of my oven. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mallorytown, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
These are a no-fail cookie that tastes great! I cut the recipe in half just because I didn't want too many cookies. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by contrachapado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
I used this recipe for a cookie exchange and it was fantastic!!!!! I will definitely add this one to my list of Christmas cookies to bake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
Really good!! I like that you can have your choice of a chewy or crunchy cookie depending on the cooking time. I have family members that like both so I do half and half when baking. Beware that this is a real stiff dough so either use dough hooks for the final mixing or do it by hand. My mixed burned out with it! lol I wanted a new one anyway. Family and friends all raved and will become part of the Christmas cookie tray year to year here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DSRTBLND43

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I have made several recipes off this site, but never take time to rate them. This recipe turned out so awesome I just had to. I've been searching for a recipe as close to my husbands grandmothers as possible. He loved this one. I'll never make any other molasses cookie recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judi'sMom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
My husband asked for "soft ginger cookies" like his mom used to make for Christmas. While she was looking in her files, I found a ginger cookie recipe from this site that was very good: chewy, but very flat, and not exactly like the cookies my husband wanted. I finally got the recipe and made it...and now I find the recipe posted here! It is fabulous. The dough is very stiff, but it is very managable if using a stand mixer. The only difference was that my recipe didn't indicate that the dough should be chilled so I bake them right away. The dough was not at all sticky as I had feared, but rolled very easily into balls. I baked for 9 minutes, and they came out perfect with chewy centers, crispy edges, and a beautiful crackled top. They were very lofty just coming out of the oven, but did fall some as they cooled...but they still weren't as flat as the other recipe I tried. I used butter flavored shortening and have eaten entirely too many of them already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmichaels, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
these are sooo yummy. the are very much like another recipe i had that i LOVED and now i can't find it. easy to make. nice and chewy. i put them immediately in an airtight container after they cooled so they would stay soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommyFromSeattle
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
Excellent, crunchy on the outside, soft and chewy on the inside. Perfect spicyness. Not a fan of using that much shortening, so I used 1 cup shortening, 1 stick of butter and it turned out sooo good. Once the shortening/egg mixture cools, it does get pretty stiff, so using an electric mixer with a dough hook is ideal or else you'll get a nice work out. I chilled my dough for only 2 hours and it was plenty. This dough crinkles beautifully and this recipe makes a lot of cookies. I used walnut sized dough balls and yielded a little over 3 dozen. I tested my oven with a thermometer to check the temperature accuracy, and it was. 375 degrees at exactly 9 minutes made soft, chewy cookies. Will be my master recipe from now on. Rivals the bakery ones - and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
Used to make these for the Xmas goodies but now they are a staple at our house. I don't bother letting cool and they turn out nice and soft. Other then that I stay true to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Fabulous!!! I made a couple of changes. I only had butter so made them with butter versus shortening. I also made a mistake and didn't allow the melted butter to cool. This made for VERY soft dough, so I had to add about 1/2 cup of flour. We rolled them in red and green sugar for Christmas. I big hit in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb Forrence Worth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States