Molasses Sugar Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Melt shortening and then cool? This is why some of you had a problem with it. ALWAYS have ALL ingredients at room temperature, including eggs and liquids!! Cream shortening or butter with sugars until smooth and creamy. Then add eggs and mix well again, then other liquids and mix well. Mix all dry ingredients in a separate bowl and then add 1/3 or less at a time to the wet ingredients and that's how great cookies are made, as well as all muffins and quick breads too! The old cookbooks used to explain this, but, alas, that info isn't included anymore and new bakers don't have this info. My daughter just made this same mistake because the recipe she used didn't give step by step info like they used to! No matter what the recipe says, this is always (in my experience) the way to perfect baking! I hope this helps!! Great recipe otherwise!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rumney, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommyFromSeattle
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
Excellent, crunchy on the outside, soft and chewy on the inside. Perfect spicyness. Not a fan of using that much shortening, so I used 1 cup shortening, 1 stick of butter and it turned out sooo good. Once the shortening/egg mixture cools, it does get pretty stiff, so using an electric mixer with a dough hook is ideal or else you'll get a nice work out. I chilled my dough for only 2 hours and it was plenty. This dough crinkles beautifully and this recipe makes a lot of cookies. I used walnut sized dough balls and yielded a little over 3 dozen. I tested my oven with a thermometer to check the temperature accuracy, and it was. 375 degrees at exactly 9 minutes made soft, chewy cookies. Will be my master recipe from now on. Rivals the bakery ones - and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
Excellent recipe. This makes a perfect cookie. Hint for those who found the recipe tough to deal with due to being sticky: Make sure you allow the shortening to cool completely (until it starts to turn white again) before adding the sugar and molasses. Also after combining all of the ingredients together store it in the fridge overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Delicious! I used butter rather than the shortening. I took them out of the oven at about 9 mins, as I like a softer cookie. They have stayed soft and still taste good four days later. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
Cookies turned out wonderfully. Nice and moist, even a week after baking!!! This is a good one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Fabulous!!! I made a couple of changes. I only had butter so made them with butter versus shortening. I also made a mistake and didn't allow the melted butter to cool. This made for VERY soft dough, so I had to add about 1/2 cup of flour. We rolled them in red and green sugar for Christmas. I big hit in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb Forrence Worth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
This was a huge hit over the holidays. I had several different people with several different tastes raving over these cookies. I was worried at first because the dough was a bit dry but I guess that's what it's supposed to be like. They turned out great and I'd love to make them again. I suppose I should...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luis Bueno

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
They bake nice and look nice but you have to really like molasses and cloves to like these cookies. My husband couldn't even finish one cookie. I tried to acquire a taste for them but no luck. I let a couple of friends taste them hoping I could give them away. Also no luck so I'm sorry to say that they are now in the garbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Did not put molasses in and it was still amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
These were excellent. I followed the recipe to a "T" and they turned out amazing. Perfect Christmas cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA
Living In: Lake City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States