Molasses Sugar Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This is like the recipe I've used for 40 years except I use white sugar in place of brown sugar. I always used mild molasses until I could no longer find it in the store. I prefer to use less molasses and add some light corn syrup for a milder cookie. Better if underbaked a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy K

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
They were great. Very easy to make and loved by my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lewiston, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
These are great. I stopped making them because I will eat them all in a day! The first time I made them, I used regular white shortening and they seemed to turn out less flat than when I started using butter-flavored shortening. So next time I buy shortening I won't get butter flavor and see if that helps the cookies puff up a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Palser

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Good for Molasses Cookies - not my family's favorite, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geekygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Sooo Good. Thankyou for the just like Starbucks cookie review, its 100% true. Try these cookies, just like the recipe says, its fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
I made the cookies smaller and reduced cooking time and they turned out great! The perfect size for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Good cookies but I agree with Amanda that the cloves are overpowering. I'm just not a clove person I guess. In my opinion, these do not taste like Starbucks at all, these are much more flavorful and spicy. They do, however, LOOK just like Starbucks Molasses Cookies. I will continue to look for the right recipe, maybe even try this recipe again and eliminate the cloves. I think if you love cloves, you'll love these cookies. Surprisingly my 3 year old likes them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amb1580

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Horn Lake, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Incredibly delicious! I have been poisoned against molasses cookies ever since my Grandma's super-molasses-y cookies, but these were terrific. They are light and made for dipping in milk. And of course, use butter instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris &  Leela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
These cookies were okay, but were not the best. The cloves overpowered everything else. I will try to make these again, but without that much spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Help! What did I do wrong? My cookies don't look like everyone elses. They have a great flavor-that's why I gave them 4 stars, but they are flat. I don't think my baking soda is bad because they rose in the oven. They just flatened out in the last 2 minutes. I only changed the shortening to butter. Can you only use shortning?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Port Richey, Florida, USA
Living In: Dade City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States