Molasses Sugar Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Loved these! I have never heard of a molasses cookie, but OMG Yum! I chilled the dough for about an hour and they turned out plump & chewy. Cooled mine on a granite counter to keep them soft. 8 minutes baking was definately enough for my oven. A new family (and neighborhood favorite :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Yum! This recipe is perfect. My dad's favorite cookie is a "Joe Frogger" that his mom made him as he was growing up. I used this recipe (exactly, no changes) to try and duplicate it and he said that these were better! (It is very rare that my father ever says anything is better than his mom's original.) My husband and in-laws loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I followed the recipe and all I could taste was baking soda....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
love them , i bake for 8 mins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pam purchase

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kentville, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Designer Coleman
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
My first attempt at molasses cookies, and they turned out Great! DON'T FORGET to refrigerate the dough overnight. Some people stated the cookies turned out flat, but they won't if you don't forget this step. ALTERATIONS: 2 tbsp of butter flavored Crisco and the rest butter. Baked at 350 degrees for 5-6 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Designer Coleman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I am a very experienced baker and I did not care for this recipe. The cookies were flat and not at all like a true molasses cookie should be. Very little molasses taste. Will not try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weedsport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Delicious just as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Great flavor from the spice combination. I took other reviews' advice and used real butter. As another reviewer suggested, they are very good with a cup of tea:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HNECKONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Good recipe. I too used butter in place of shortening. I baked in convection oven for 14 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This is like the recipe I've used for 40 years except I use white sugar in place of brown sugar. I always used mild molasses until I could no longer find it in the store. I prefer to use less molasses and add some light corn syrup for a milder cookie. Better if underbaked a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy K

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States