Molasses Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Great cookies! The whole family loves them. My daughter (9yrs old) and I made these together. Easy recipe to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sondra Dias

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dartmouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
These cookies were delicious. They had the texture of brownies, soft and chewy. I liked that Kathy used brown sugar instead of granulated sugar. Here are the changes I made. Used unsulphured blackstrap molasses for higher iron content and flavor. Used unsalted butter instead of shortening. Added an extra 1/4 teaspoon of salt since using unsalted butter. Reduced the ground cloves to 1/4 teaspoon. Baked at 350 degrees F for 12 minutes because used the dark, no-stick baking sheets. I will be making these cookies again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Made exactly as written, baked for 8 minutes and cooled on the counter. Made yummy, soft and addicting cookies! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Moist and chewy. I add more spice and chopped candied ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I made these cookies for my family as they are not my thing (I am not big on molasses) but my family adores it....and they were a HUGE hit. My husband and kids loved them. They were gone in about 2 days. Would definitely make again exactly to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterfly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
My 69 year old husband was getting cabin fever after our last snowstorm, so I asked if there was anything I could make that he was craving. Molasses cookies like my mom used to make was the answer, and this recipe is it! He LOVED them. Thank you All Recipes for saving the day -again, I love this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tash
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I made brown sugar by adding 1T more molasses and using white granulated sugar. I only added a dash of cinnamon and ginger as I wanted more molasses flavor. Next time I think I will leave out the spices entirely. I also used one stick of butter instead of 3/4cup shortening. I hand mixed them because the baby was asleep. I didn't refrigerate the first batch before I cooked them. Then my baby woke up and I stuck the rest of the dough in the fridge. When I came back a few hours later the biggest difference with the fridge dough and the no-fridge dough was that the fridge dough had more sugar stick to the balls. They both cooked the same and I can not tell the difference after they were cool (except for a few with more sugar on them). The next day, after leaving them only loosely covered (I kept sneaking them when my kids weren't looking) they are even chewier and not hard at all. I baked them for 8 minutes. These are delicious and the biggest change I will make next time is to double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tash

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
My personal favorite recipe!! We like it with a bit of spice, so we added just a bit extra cinnamon and cloves, it smells SO delicious, warms the whole house with that rich scent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Love these cookies! However, I did only use 1/4 tsp cloves, 1/2 cup butter flavor shortening, 1/4 cup butter and instead of 1/4 cup molasses, I used a 1/4 sorghum. These will go out as my holiday cookies for friends and co-workers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
used butter - worked out well, probably could use a little less in fact - definitely put the mix in the fridge before baking, too gooey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States