Molasses Spice Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
My picky taste testers loved the muffins. I used applesauce instead of butter (and cut back on the sugar a little), blackstrap molasses, and extra spices (including nutmeg). I also used ground flax instead of one egg. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
All five of us, including 3 picky kids who aren't usually big muffin eaters, thought these were great. I will absolutely make these again! I subbed canola oil for the butter and they were still a teensy bit on the drier side, but I expected that because of the whole wheat flour. I added more cinnamon and ginger, maybe not quite double the amount included in the recipe, which was perfect for us in terms of spice. I also added about 1/4 cup mini chocolate chips to half of the batter for the kids and they all had seconds. Easy to make, I had all of the ingredients, and everyone liked them...that's worth five stars to me! Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Republic, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Almost followed this recipe! :D Rarely happens. Only thing I did was use plain lowfat plain yogurt for the buttermilk sub, doubled spices & no raisins. In molasses cookies, I only add cinnamon; but went with this & added the ginger, too. 'Didn't alternate the yogurt, just added it to the wet ingredients last. I liked these. The top is a little crispy. The flavor kind of reminds me of Russell Stover molasses chew candy. Department of the Obvious, but that's a good taste. :D I really could't detect the cinnamon or the ginger (ginger especially, I can usually pick out) so doubling, in this girl's book, wasn't a bad choice. 'Gonna make these again. 'Think Laur would like 'em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by joiselene
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I followed the recipe but made 1/2 cup buttermilk instead of powdered. These were a bit too "holiday" tasting for me... a bit like gingerbread. Also not sure if all that molasses sat well with me! The texture was good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Used only whole wheat flour, substituted the sugar for Splenda and used unsweetened applesauce instead of butter. Very nice muffins :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I made three small changes. Instead of plain water, I used a half cup brewed unsweetened honey vanilla white chai and I added about a half teaspoon of dried lemon peel and a half teaspoon nutmeg. I did soak my raisins in the hot chai for about twenty minutes to plump them up. These took 20 minutes at 350* and wow, do they smell amazing! I will be making these again for sure, but when I do, I'll use my changes and either add double the raisins or add in a cup or so of Hershey's cinnamon chips. I'd add a little more liquid next time, too or bake a minute or two less. They were just a touch dry. The flavor? Amazing. Great recipe easily bendable for small personal changes. NOTE: I did use almost all organic ingredients. I think that helped the quality of the muffin immensely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
These are fantastic! My husband has eaten nearly half the tray already and I only pulled them out of the oven 30 minutes ago! I used 1/4 c white and 1/4 c brown sugar, added 1/4 tsp. of allspice and about 1/8 c more molasses because we love it, and used 1/2 c real buttermilk in place of the water and buttermilk powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
After reading reviews, I went ahead and doubled the spices and added 1/2 tsp of nutmeg. With those changes, these muffins had really good flavor. I love the healthy aspect of them, but the whole wheat flour gave them a feeling of dryness. I think next time I'll try adding a banana or some pumpkin. I did sub chocolate chips instead of raisins because my kids don't care for raisins. The chocolate was very good in these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
very good! An excellent whole wheat recipe. The strong flavors of molasses and spice really stand up to the whole wheat. I omitted dry buttermilk and raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pharmacokatie
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
This recipe got my attention because we love anything with molasses and spice, unfortunately I ended up having to make a few changes. First I did not use wheat flour (only in bread) and then used regular buttermilk. For us the end result was perfect (p.s. there is no really good substitute for regular buttermilk). That is my opinion of course!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States