Molasses Oat Bran Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2002
This recipe was a bit iffy. The dough consistency was hard and similar to cookie dough, without the soft yeilding texture that bread dough usually has. Plus, after letting it rest twice I only had enough for one loaf instead of two. After baking it came out tasting alright, but I don't think I'll do this recipe again - it was very time intensive (4 hours upwards) for not much result at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
The recipe is a little iffy, but can be worked with. The amounts given are only for one loaf; double for two. I added one extra tablespoon margarine, raisins, and a couple tablespoons brown sugar. Came out delicious. Not very sweet, so add some more white sugar if you like sweeter breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
This bread was delicious! When I took it out of the oven it was a bit doughey, but everyone enjoyed the dougheyness of it. (Be sure to cook it the full time) I made it without the oats and it turned out fine. I also made a pan of rolls from this recipe and those were eaten immediately! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
There is a reason people don't make 100% wholewheat bread, and this is it. I wish I had taken Tillster's advice. This bread was a colossal waste of time, energy and ingredients. The doughiness mentioned by another reviewer was not the result of under-cooking. I baked this bread for almost an hour and it was still doughy in the middle. Also, although it rose well during the first rising period, it didn't rise at all in the oven. It came out as flat as a pancake. And it tasted of nothing but molasses. I wish I could give this recipe less than one star - more like minus five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
Unfortunately, I read the reviews after I started making it, and decided to make rolls with the dough. I really don't know what to say, except this is the worst recipe I have ever worked with. I'm eating a roll now, and they are hard, hardly rose or anything. I've made a lot of bread and unless you have experience in fixing recipes, I wouldn't bother with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
During the first rising I left it to rise the whole 2 hours, during the second rising I left it a bit longer than the recipe calls for. It makes one large loave or two small ones. I liked the texture and taste of it, but it is not very sweet, nor very fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
this was perfect. from the look of the dough i wasn't sure about how the end product would look- but it was great. a thick warm slice of this with a little margarine and molasses is a nice warm treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
This is a wonderful healthy bread recipe. I wonder if the people who gave it a low rating wanted bread that tastes just like the sugar and additive filled ones from the store, just healthy. Well, it isn't possible! This recipe is a good compromise, giving a pretty good taste and pretty good texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
i haven't made bread in some time and was excited to give this a go. as i was kneading it, it seemed that i reached the correct consistancy at 2.5 cups flour, rather than 3. however, it seemed VERY dense, although the flavor was tasty. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fuznic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I am giving this 3 stars as written. It has potential though. When using WW flour and oat bran it is important to add Vital Wheat Gluten, this recipe needs at least 3 Tablespoons of VWG. Also, if you hydrate the oat bran first and then add to the dough you will have better results. Both Oat Bran and WW flour really suck up the water, take that into account when kneading and don't add all the flour at once. I proofed the yeast with about 1/4 cup of water, soaked the bran in the remaining 3/4 cup warm water. I still needed to add more water to the dough. The Vital Wheat Gluten makes all the difference in the world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States